AUTHOR: MARCUS SCHICK

WHITE’s Digital Luxury Study sketches today’s luxury buyer as
self-confident, eager for exclusiveness, open-minded about the
new media and extremely discerning.

LUXURY has its own places of pilgrimage: the upscalestores along Fifth Avenue, the Champs-Élysées, New Bond Street, in Ginza, Via Montenapoleone or Maximilianstrasse.

But nowadays the exclusive experience is no longer restricted to the grand boulevards of this world. For a growing number of luxury buyers, the Internet is becoming increasingly important – either as a source of information and inspiration or as a marketplace that presents endless possibilities.

How do the Internet and mobile devices influence the buying behaviour of luxury consumers? What does it all mean for bricks-and-mortar retail? Which communication channels are relevant for the individual subgroups of luxury buyers?

And how can they be used not just to convey abrand’s exclusiveness but to strengthen it as well? WHITE Communications’ Digital Luxury Study has been providing the answers to questions such as these since 2012.

The survey is conducted and published on an annual basis with the support of competent partners like Burda Intermedia Publishing GmbH or cosmetics association VKE-Kosmetikverband.


The scientific basis for the research is provided by leading market and social research institutes like GfK nurago and, since 2016, SINUS Markt- und Sozialforschung GmbH.

The study investigates and analyses luxury savvy consumers’ online search, information and buying behaviour in depth, thus providing not just valuable snapshots but a meaningful trend barometer as well.

The main focus is on affluent luxury shoppers with a net monthly household income of over 3,500 euros who are interested in fashion, shoes, accessories, decorative cosmetics, skincare and watches.

In particular, the pollsters target heavy buyers of highly priced premium products. “This kind of consumer associates luxury with concrete brands,” says Rupert Wild, “especially when it comes to fashion and shoes. For the most part – totally detached from the price – he sees luxury products as away to project an air of self-confidence and stand out from the crowd.”

  • slide-1

    The WHITE study : an indispensable guide to the luxury segment since 2012

When it comes to the exclusiveness of the brands they wear, luxury customers expect high standards. Quality is more important to them than quantity. Their motto: better to have one precious item than several less expensive products.

As for getting information about luxury products, heavy buyers prefer media that allow them to choose when they want to use themselves. In addition to periodicals and magazines, mobile Internet devices like laptops, smartphones and tablets play a key role for these consumers, as do Internet-enabled smart TVs. When online, they like to visit the websites and social media pages not just of brands but of glossy magazines as well.

While there are those who voice concerns that, in view of this massively expanding Internet presence, traditional upscale stores will eventually become obsolete, the results of the WHITE study do nothing to fuel such fears. If you’re waiting for the big closing-down sale on the grand boulevards of this world – don’t hold your breath.

Luxury customers remain loyal to bricks-and-mortar retail. For them, face-to-face contact in the store is an essential part of the perfect shopping experience.

Equally interesting for media planning and marketing campaigns: luxury consumers like to decide their preferred time for finding out about luxury products themselves. As a result, multichannel and cross-media solutions are becoming crucially important for brand communications.


WHITE’s managing director Rupert Wild sees this as further confirmation of a certain line of development: “General interest magazines will continue to be the most relevant medium for obtaining information about luxury products. But there’s no getting round online media anymore.”

Almost half of all heavy buyers have already bought something via their tablet or smartphone. Whether or not they go to the sites with the definite intention of buying something – they enjoy getting inspiration from the new trends they find in onlineshops.

“General interest magazines will continue
to be the most relevant medium for obtaining
information about luxury products. But there’s no
getting round online media anymore.”

And that brings us to another area where the heavy buyer proves extremely discerning: the online advertising presence of his preferred brands. Originality, information and an incentive to take a closer look at the product – that’s what he believes he is entitled to expect. And he’s right.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

AUTOR: MARCUS SCHICK

Die Digital Luxury Study von WHITE skizziert den
heutigen Luxuskäufer als selbstbewusst, auf Exklusivität
erpicht, den neuen Medien gegenüber aufgeschlossen und
äußerst anspruchsvoll.

LUXUS hat seine eigenen Sehnsuchtsorte. Sie liegen in den Edel-Stores entlang der Fifth Avenue, auf dem Champs-Élysées, in der New Bond Street, der Ginza, der Via Montenapoleone oder auf der Maximilianstraße.

Doch das exklusive Erlebnis endet schon lange nicht mehr an den Prachtboulevards. Für immer mehr Luxuskäufer gewinnt das Internet an Bedeutung: als Quell von Information und Inspiration oder als Marktplatz der grenzenlosen Möglichkeiten.

Wie beeinflussen Internet und mobile Netzzugänge das Kaufverhalten von Luxuskonsumenten? Was bedeutet dies für den stationären Handel? Welche Kommunikationskanäle sind heute für die einzelnen Luxuskäufergruppen relevant?

Und wie kann auf diesen Wegen die Exklusivität von Marken vermittelt und sogar verstärkt werden? Antworten auf solche Fragen gibt seit 2012 die Digital Luxury Study von WHITE Communications.

Mit Unterstützung kompetenter Partner wie der Burda Intermedia Publishing GmbH oder dem VKE-Kosmetikverband wird sie jährlich erhoben und veröffentlicht.


Die wissenschaftlich fundierte Grundlage liefern jeweils führende Institute der Markt- und Sozialforschung wie GfK nurago und seit 2016 die SINUS Markt- und Sozialforschung GmbH.

Umfassend wird in der Studie das Such-, Informations- und Kaufverhalten von luxusaffinen Konsumenten im Internet erforscht und analysiert. So liefert sie nicht nur wertvolle Momentaufnahmen, sondern auch ein aussagekräftiges Trend- Barometer.

Das Hauptaugenmerk gilt kaufkräftigen Luxus- Shoppern mit einem monatlichen Haushaltsnettoeinkommen ab 3.500 Euro, die sich für Mode, Schuhe, Accessoires, dekorative oder pflegende Kosmetik sowie Uhren interessieren.

Besonders den sogenannten Heavy-Käufer hochpreisiger Premiumprodukte haben die Demoskopen im Visier. „Er verbindet mit Luxus konkrete Marken“, weiß Rupert Wild, „vor allem im Bereich Mode und Schuhe. Weitgehend losgelöst vom Preis dienen ihm Luxusprodukte dazu, sich selbstbewusst in Szene zu setzen und sich von anderen abzuheben.“

  • slide-1

    Die Studie von WHITE: seit 2012 unverzichtbarer Wegweiser der Luxusbranche

Luxuskunden stellen einen hohen Anspruch an die Exklusivität der von ihnen getragenen Marken. Qualität ist ihnen wichtiger als Quantität. Lieber ein wertvolleres Stück als mehrere günstigere Produkte, ist ihre Devise.

Um sich über Luxusprodukte zu informieren, favorisieren Heavy-Käufer Medien, bei denen sie den Nutzungszeitpunkt selbst wählen können. Neben Zeitschriften und Magazinen zählen für sie vor allem mobile Online-Geräte wie Laptops, Smartphones und Tablets sowie internetfähige Smart-TVs dazu. Im Netz suchen sie gerne Websites und Social- Media-Seiten sowohl von Marken wie von Hochglanz-Magazinen auf.

Dass angesichts der mächtig anschwellenden Präsenz im Internet die traditionellen Edel-Stores eines Tages ausgedient haben, dieser Befürchtung gibt die WHITE-Studie keine Nahrung. Der große Ausverkauf auf den Prachtboulevards fällt aus.

Luxuskunden bleiben dem stationären Handel treu. Der persönliche Kontakt im Laden gehört für sie mit zum perfekten Einkaufserlebnis.

Für Media-Einsatz und Marketing-Kampagnen gleichermaßen interessant: Luxuskunden bestimmen den Zeitpunkt, zu dem sie sich am liebsten über Luxusprodukte informieren, gern selbst. Multi- Channel- und Cross-Media-Lösungen gewinnen daher in der Markenkommunikation eine herausragende Bedeutung.


WHITE-Geschäftsführer Rupert Wild sieht damit eine Media-Entwicklungslinie bestätigt: „Publikumszeitschriften bleiben weiterhin das relevanteste Medium, um sich über Luxusprodukte zu informieren. Aber an Onlinemedien kommt man nicht mehr vorbei.“

Fast die Hälfte aller Heavy-Käufer hat bereits über das Tablet oder Smartphone eingekauft. Ob mit oder ohne unmittelbare Kaufabsicht – in Online-Shops lassen sie sich gern von neuen Trends inspirieren.

„Publikumszeitschriften bleiben weiterhin das
  relevanteste Medium, um sich über
Luxusprodukte zu informieren. Aber an
  Onlinemedien kommt man nicht mehr vorbei.“

Und hier zeigt sich der Heavy-Käufer auch auf einem anderen Gebiet äußerst anspruchsvoll: dem werblichen Auftritt seiner favorisierten Marken im Netz. Originalität, Information und Motivation zur Auseinandersetzung mit dem Produkt, das glaubt er verlangen zu dürfen – Kann er auch.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren