It’s this quintessentially French story that never ceases to cast
its spell on us. The story of Coco Chanel. How the little girl
from the orphanage revolutionised women’s fashion. And the
legacy she left behind: a company that bears her name, the
little black dress, the suit that likewise bears her name, and
that peerless fragrance in its wonderful bottle.

Chanel is immortal. A homage.

Coco Chanel: what a name, what a life! And what a lifetime of achievement in the world (and for the world) of luxury and fashion, good taste and elegance. The kind of achievement that is truly aweinspiring. The scandals, legends and political errors of judgement in this colourful life are not our concern here. Nor do they detract from our admiration.

Gabrielle Chanel was born in a poorhouse in western France in 1883, the daughter of a peddler and a washerwoman. Her mother died when she was 12. Her father put her in an orphanage run by nuns, where she learned to sew. She never saw him again. At 17, just when she had found employment as a seamstress, she suddenly decided to become a singer. One of her most popular chansons was “Qui qu’a vu, Coco?” (“Who’s seen Coco?”) – and her nickname was born. But before it was possible to tell whether she had the makings of a second Piaf, she became the mistress of a certain Étienne Balsan, who took her off to Paris and financed a milliner’s shop for her – her entry into the world of fashion. The boyish caps she made were a deliberate attempt to set herself apart from the hat fashions of the day, which she detested: How can a brain function under something like that?” she asked. Her next benefactor, Arthur (“Boy”) Capel, not only helped her progress from hats to clothes, but from Paris to fashionable seaside resorts like Deauville. It was there that, in 1913, she opened the first boutique to bear her name – an event widely regarded as the birth of the Chanel group. Success came quickly. Taking much of her inspiration from men’s fashions, Coco Chanel developed her own fashion language, featuring sports jackets, ties and whatever else she saw at the weekly horse races. Military clothing was another of her influences.

Mixing elements of men’s and women’s fashions and using relatively simple materials like jersey be came her trademark. While she certainly wasn’t a feminist, her fashions nevertheless made a decisive contribution to women’s liberation, as Jean Cocteau said of her admiringly.

As a result, by the 1920s, she had already acquired almost legendary status. It wasn’t long before Hollywood called. She followed the call – but didn’t stay for long. When rumours surfaced that she was about to marry the richest man in Europe at the time, the Duke of Westminster, she quashed them by saying: “There have been several Duchesses of Westminster. There is only one Chanel.”

  • slide-1

    Claudia Schiffer

  • slide-1

    Audrey Tautou

  • slide-1

    Cara Delevingne

  • slide-1

    Blake Lively

But that was only true up to a point, for there were in fact many Coco Chanels. Being the creative spirit she was, she was constantly reinventing not just her fashion but herself as well.

Being the creative spirit she was, she was constantly reinventing not just her fashion but herself as well.

Even so, her name may not have remained quite so famous if, in 1921, perfumer Ernest Beaux hadn’t created a fragrance for her that turned out to be liquid gold: Chanel No. 5 in an Art Deco bottle, which went on to become a timeless classic. It is called No. 5 because it was the fifth fragrance sample that Beaux presented to her.

This fragrance even managed to uphold the Chanel name when it fell from favour in France. After the war, it was only thanks to her good connections that she managed to avoid being tried for collaborating with the Nazis by a hair’s breadth.

Up until 1954 she kept a low profile, living far away from Paris in the sophisticated French-speaking city of Lausanne in Switzerland. Then she made a dazzling comeback: not as an entrepreneuse, because she had sold everything to the Wertheimer family in 1952, but as a fashion designer – with the now legendary Chanel suit.

To begin with the French press, still indignant, couldn’t bring itself to express unqualified approval, but the suit sold like hotcakes in the USA. Coco Chanel had struck a chord and was back in the international limelight.

In 1971, she died in her suite at the Ritz. She was 87. Her last words, addressed to those around her, are said to have been: “You see, this is how you die.” We do not know whether anybody replied “You are immortal, Coco.” But they would have been right. And she would have liked it.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

Es ist diese durch und durch französische Geschichte, die uns
immer wieder in den Bann zieht. Die Geschichte der Coco
Chanel. Wie das Mädchen aus dem Waisenhaus die Mode der
Frauen revolutionierte. Was sie uns hinterlassen hat: ein
Unternehmen, das ihren Namen trägt, das kleine Schwarze,
das Kostüm, das auch ihren Namen trägt, dieser
unvergleichliche Duft im Flakon. – Chanel ist unsterblich.
Eine Verbeugung.

Coco Chanel, was für ein Name, was für ein Leben. Mehr noch: was für eine Lebensleistung in der Welt – und für die Welt – des Luxus und der Moden, des guten Geschmacks und der Eleganz. Vor dieser Leistung kann man sich nur verbeugen. Die Skandälchen, Legenden und politischen Irrwege in diesem schillernden Leben sind nicht unser Thema. Sie tun der Bewunderung aber auch keinen Abbruch.

Als Tochter eines Hausierers und einer Wäscherin wurde Gabrielle Chanel 1883 in einem westfranzösischen Armenhaus geboren. Als sie zwölf Jahre alt war, starb die Mutter. Der Vater gab sie in ein von Nonnen geleitetes Waisenhaus, wo sie nähen lernte. Ihn hat sie nie wieder gesehen. Mit 17, als man ihr gerade eine Anstellung als Näherin besorgt hatte, entschied sie sich spontan für eine Karriere als Sängerin. Eins ihrer beim Publikum beliebtesten Chansons hieß „Qui qu’a vu, Coco?“ („Wer hat Coco gesehen?“), und so war ihr Spitzname geboren. Aber noch bevor sich herausstellen konnte, ob sie das Zeug für eine zweite Piaf hatte, wurde sie die Geliebte eines gewissen Étienne Balsan, der sie mit nach Paris nahm und ihr ein Hutgeschäft finanzierte – ihr Einstieg in die Modewelt. Mit jungenhaften Mützen setzte sie sich bewusst von der damaligen Hutmode ab, über die sie lästerte: „Wie kann bloß ein Gehirn unter so etwas funktionieren?“ Ihr nächster Gönner, Arthur („Boy“) Capel ermöglichte ihr nicht nur den Weg von Hüten zu Kleidern, sondern auch von Paris in die mondänen Seebäder wie Deauville. Dort trug eine Boutique 1913 erstmals ihren Namen, was als Gründungsstunde des Chanel-Konzerns gilt. Der Erfolg kam schnell. Weitgehend von der Männermode inspiriert, fand Coco Chanel zu ihrer eigene Modesprache: mit Sportsakkos, Schlips und allem, was sie bei den wöchentlichen Pferderennen sah. Auch von Militärkleidung ließ sie sich inspirieren.

Das Mischen von weiblichen mit männlichen Modeelementen und die Verwendung von relativ einfachen Materialien wie Jersey wurden ihr Markenzeichen. Eine Feministin war sie sicher nicht, aber mit ihrer Mode habe sie doch entscheidend zur Befreiung der Frau beigetragen, wie Jean Cocteau ihr bescheinigt hat.

So hatte sie schon in den 20er Jahren einen annähernd legendären Ruf. Folgerichtig dauerte es nicht lange, bis Hollywood rief. Sie folgte dem Ruf, war aber schnell wieder zurück. Gerüchte über eine bevorstehende Heirat mit dem damals reichsten Mann Europas, dem Herzog von Westminster, dementierte sie so: „Es gab in der Geschichte schon viele Herzoginnen von Westminster. Es gibt aber nur eine Chanel.“

  • slide-1

    Claudia Schiffer

  • slide-1

    Audrey Tautou

  • slide-1

    Cara Delevingne

  • slide-1

    Blake Lively

Das stimmte allerdings nur bedingt, eigentlich gab es viele Coco Chanels. Kreativ, wie sie war, erfand sie sich und ihre Mode immer wieder neu.

Und doch, der Name wäre nicht so glänzend geblieben, hätte nicht der Parfumeur Ernest Beaux ihr 1921 einen Duft kreiert, der sich als flüssiges Gold entpuppte: Ch. Nr. 5 im Art-déco-Flacon, der ein zeitloser Klassiker wurde. Er heißt Nr. 5, weil er die fünfte Duftvariante war, die Beaux ihr vorschlug.

Dieser Duft hielt den Namen Chanel selbst dann noch hoch, als sie bei den Franzosen in Ungnade fiel. Nur dank guter Beziehungen entging sie nach dem Krieg haarscharf einem Prozess wegen Kollaboration mit den Nazis.

Bis 1954 hielt sie sich, fern von Paris, im mondänen Lausanne in der französischen Schweiz bedeckt. Dann ein glänzendes Comeback, nicht als Unternehmerin, denn sie hatte schon 1952 alles an die Familie Wertheimer verkauft, sondern als Modeschöpferin: mit dem inzwischen legendären Chanel-Kostüm.

Die französische Presse, immer noch verschnupft, konnte sich zunächst nicht zu ungeteilter Zustimmung durchringen, aber dafür ging es in den USA gleich richtig ab. Coco Chanel hatte einen Nerv getroffen und sich im internationalen Rampenlicht zurückgemeldet.

1971 – sie war 87 – starb sie in ihrer Suite im Hotel Ritz. Ihre letzten Worte, an die Umstehenden gerichtet, sollen gelautet haben: „So stirbt man also.“ Ob jemand geantwortet hat: „Du bist unsterblich, Coco“, wissen wir nicht. Aber er hätte recht gehabt. Und ihr hätte der Satz gefallen.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren