“See better. Look perfect.”– That was the aspiration that took
RODENSTOCK to the top of the world league and played a
crucial role in its evolution from optical aid to fashion
accessory.

IT IS THE SUM of many little details that fit together perfectly like the pieces of a puzzle and create a symbiosis that have made RODENSTOCK one of the most renowned eyewear manufacturers on the planet. Founded in Würzburg more than 135 years ago and now based in Munich, the company offers people “a holistic system of vision” that is unique the world over. Customers get everything they need from a single source: from ultraprecise lenses and perfectly designed frames all the way to high-tech measuring devices and comprehensive service.

The RODENSTOCK story began in 1877, when company founder Josef Rodenstock proposed the then revolutionary theory that defective vision was not an illness but could be rectified quite simply if the visual system is understood in its entirety. That approach continues to shape the company’s philosophy even today, which is why it has long since become a brand that aspires to lead the field: always innovative, always one step ahead. And no doubt the reason why it has several hundred patents to show for itself as well.

Just a few years after it was founded, the firm expanded into Switzerland, the Netherlands, Austria, Italy, Denmark and Russia. The first framed diaphragm spectacles were patented – the world’s first true spectacles in the modern sense of the word. Countless other groundbreaking developments followed, including bifocal lenses, the precursor of today’s progressive lenses. Then came what the company called Perfa spectacles, the domed lenses of which were one of the major developments of the 20th century.

In 1968, RODENSTOCK was the first European company to launch self-tinting lenses, followed in the 1970s by ultralight plastic lenses and, at the beginning of the new millennium, ultra lightweight frames made of a titanium alloy.

But the company wasn’t just a pioneer in terms of technology: it set new standards with its looks as well. The brand’s success story has been crowned with more than 50 design awards. The rocco shades frame achieved worldwide fame, with US president Ronald Reagan being just one of several million customers who fell in love with this model in the 1980s.

What shaped RODENSTOCK’s development from an early stage was its profound sense and understanding of what constitutes a brand, combined with the insight that cultivating and growing a brand is not a voluntary exercise but a compulsory one. As early as 1913, the first-ever newspaper campaign in the optician industry caused a sensation, and in the 1960s RODENSTOCK became the first eyewear brand in the world to take the bold step of featuring international stars like Gina Lollobrigida, Brigitte Bardot or Curd Jürgens in its advertising. It was this vision that earned the company not just the title of Major German Brand but of German Brand of the Century as well.

Today, Claudia Schiffer is the eyewear brand’s most famous face. But she doesn’t just model its products: she has made an important contribution to the company’s success with her own collection as well. As have the rocco by RODENSTOCK line or the licensed collections by Porsche Design, Jil Sander, Bogner and Mercedes-Benz Style.

  • slide-1

    German engineering since 1877. Whether it’s corrective eyewear or sunglasses:

  • slide-1

    RODENSTOCK quality and design are never anything but de luxe.

The product lines range from classic or individual all the way to emotional. But there is one thing they all have in common: the premium quality standards of the company that makes them. Meticulous craftsmanship and German engineering combined with premium materials and excellent design.

And there’s something else they share that has become something of a rarity nowadays: all the products are made in Germany, because RODENSTOCK is totally committed to supporting its home country’s economy. That’s why, besides its research centre and prototype building in Munich, the company also operates an engineering centre in Regen and a high tech production facility in Frankfurt am Main. From here, the eyewear is exported to 80 countries, where it delights wearers with its unparalleled function, form and colours.

RODENSTOCK 2015-2017

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

„See better. Look perfect.“ – Mit diesem Anspruch hat es
RODENSTOCK an die Weltspitze geschafft und die
Evolution von der reinen Sehhilfe zum Mode-Accessoire
entscheidend geprägt.

ES IST DIE SUMME vieler kleiner Details, die wie Puzzleteile perfekt ineinander passen, eine Symbiose bilden, und die RODENSTOCK zu einem der renommiertesten Brillen-Hersteller haben werden lassen – weltweit. Das vor über 135 Jahren in Würzburg gegründete und heute in München ansässige Unternehmen bietet den Menschen „ein ganzheitliches System des besseren Sehens“, wie es international einzigartig ist. Die Kunden bekommen alles aus einer Hand: von hochpräzisen Brillengläsern über perfekt designte Fassungen bis zu High-Tech-Messgeräten und einem umfassenden Service.

Die Geschichte von RODENSTOCK begann 1877. Damals vertrat der Gründer Josef Rodenstock die für damalige Zeiten revolutionäre These, dass Fehlsichtigkeit keine Krankheit sei, sondern ganz einfach behoben werden könne, wenn man das System des Sehens in seinem Ganzen versteht. Dies prägt bis heute die Philosophie des Unternehmens, längst eine Marke, mit dem Anspruch, immer ganz vorne dabei zu sein; immer innovativ, immer einen Schritt voraus. Mehrere hundert Patente hat es seit seiner Entstehung vorzuweisen.

Bereits wenige Jahre nach seiner Gründung expandierte die Firma in die Schweiz, die Niederlande sowie nach Österreich, Italien, Dänemark und Russland. 1880 wurde die erste eingefasste Diaphragma- Brille patentiert – die erste Brille im modernen Sinn. Unzählige weitere bahnbrechende Entwicklungen folgten, darunter die Zweistärkengläser, die Vorstufe der Gleitsichtgläser.

Dann die sogenannten Perfa-Brillengläser; diese gewölbten Gläser sind eine der großen Entwicklungen des 20. Jahrhunderts. 1968 brachte RODENSTOCK als erstes europäisches Unternehmen selbsttönende Brillengläser auf den Markt, in den 70ern folgen ultraleichte Kunststoffgläser, Anfang des Jahrtausends extrem leichte Brillenfassungen aus einer Titan-Legierung.

Nicht nur technisch leistete das Haus immer wieder Pionierarbeit, auch optisch setzte es Maßstäbe. Über 50 Design-Awards adeln die Erfolgsgeschichte der Marke. Die Fassung „rocco shades“ hat Weltruhm erlangt; US-Präsident Ronald Reagan war in den 80er Jahren einer von mehreren Millionen, die sich für dieses Modell begeistert haben.

Was RODENSTOCK früh geprägt hat, war das tiefe Gefühl und Verständnis für eine Marke, und diese zu pflegen und wachsen zu lassen nicht Kür, sondern Pflicht. Bereits 1913 sorgte man mit der allerersten Zeitungskampagne in der Augenoptik- Branche für Aufsehen. In den 60er Jahren wurde mit internationalen Stars wie Gina Lollobrigida, Brigitte Bardot oder Curd Jürgens geworben; die erste Optikmarke der Welt, die das wagte. Dieser Weitblick hat RODENSTOCK nicht nur die Auszeichnung „Major German Brand“ eingebracht, sondern sogar zur „German Brand of the Century“ gemacht.

Heute ist Claudia Schiffer das prominente Gesicht des Optikunternehmens. Jedoch ist sie nicht nur als Model präsent, sie trägt auch mit ihrer eigenen Kollektion zum Erfolg der Marke bei. Ebenso wie die Linie rocco by RODENSTOCK oder die Lizenzkollektionen von Porsche Design, Jil Sander, Bogner und Mercedes-Benz Style.

  • slide-1

    Deutsche Ingenieurskunst seit 1877. Ob Korrektur- oder Sonnenbrille

  • slide-1

    Qualität und Design sind bei RODENSTOCK immer de luxe.

Die Bandbreite der Produktlinien reicht von klassisch über individuell bis emotional. Sie alle verbindet der hohe Qualitätsanspruch des Hauses: handwerkliche Präzision und deutsche Ingenieurskunst, gepaart mit hochwertigen Materialien und exzellentem Design..

Was heute Seltenheitswert hat: Alle Produkte werden in Deutschland gefertigt, RODENSTOCK setzt ganz auf die hiesige Wirtschaft. Das gilt für das Forschungszentrum und den Musterbau in München ebenso wie für das Engineering Center in Regen und die High-Tech-Produktionsstätte in Frankfurt am Main. Von hier aus werden sie in 80 Länder gebracht, wo sie ihre Trägerinnen und Träger mit Funktion, Form und Farbe beglücken.

RODENSTOCK 2015-2017

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren