The little black dress. Created by Coco Chanel in 1926, it is a timeless classic: basically a simple, straight, knee-length dress, neither extravagantly cut nor luxuriously decorated, that nevertheless ushered in the modern age of fashion.

Right from the start, it was considered revolutionary and stirred strong emotions. Because the fact that it was black broke a taboo. For a long time, black clothes had been deemed unseemly for a young woman. Black was the colour either of widows or of experienced married women. Young women, it was widely believed, ought to wear white, the colour of innocence.

The VOGUE that printed Coco Chanel’s design for the first time predicted that the unusual garment would be a resounding success: “It will become a sort of uniform for all woman of taste.” And English magazines came up with the name that was to make it famous: the “little black dress”.

Madame Chanel’s delightful design was born of her dislike of the fashions that had been popular up until that point: lots of lace and bodices. Later, she explained that the very sight of these overladen and – in her eyes – “elitist” clothes was enough to trigger feelings of “aversion”. She countered with her own taste, which was defined by sophisticated simplicity. At the time, the word minimalism wasn’t even being used in fashion, but that was the trend the little black dress set in motion. Its creator’s declared intention was not just to adapt it to the ladies of refined society as eveningwear; office girls, saleswomen and factory workers were to feel comfortable in it as well. That’s what Coco Chanel wanted – and so it came to pass.

“I’m sure Coco Chanel would have hated me.”

The little black dress has outlived every fashion. It was and is both simple and mysterious. Despite its lack of fancy details, or perhaps for that very reason, its design is incredibly seductive. Whether its wearer is sitting in an opera box or at the bar, the dress is never out of place. At exhibition openings, it puts many a work of art in the shade. And whether she’s throwing a party or serving dinner, the hostess almost always looks gorgeous in a little black dress. In fact, there are very few occasions when it makes a woman look under or overdressed.

And so this timeless textile rightly embarked on its triumphal procession through the world’s wardrobes, and it has just as rightly adorned countless enchanting goddesses of the silver screen as well. Somewhere in our collective memory, there will always be a picture of Audrey Hepburn in “Breakfast at Tiffany’s”, walking along Fifth Avenue in a little black dress.

Lily Allen as the new CHANEL girl in an Audrey Hepburn-style pose, 2009.

HEAD DESIGNER LAGERFELD:
KING KARL OF PARIS

Karl Lagerfeld and Chanel had their first encounter in the early 1980s. Coco Chanel had already been dead for nine years by then. The two are often said to have met, but that isn’t true. In 2013, on the Chanel company’s 100th birthday, “King Karl” coyly said that, if they had, he was sure she would have hated him.

It was Chanel boss Alain Wertheimer who signed Lagerfeld after the two met in Paris, initially as haute couture consultant.

In 1984 the owners appointed him head designer, responsible for the entire fashion division – a position he still holds today. Experts are full of praise not just for the fact that Lagerfeld restored the brand to its former glory, but for the way he did it. It is thanks to him, they say, that the Chanel label began setting the tone again – among young women too.

It is very probably unique in the fashion world for somebody to be given the kind of carte blanche “King Karl” has at Chanel. The management has never interfered, he has always been given free rein, even for the budget. And nobody at company headquarters in Neuilly-sur-Seine has never been the least bit bothered that Lagerfeld has so many other commitments in the luxury industry. On the contrary: it is seen as an asset.

Chanel was also the backdrop against which the relationship between top model Claudia Schiffer and Karl Lagerfeld unfolded. It was in 1988 – the same year she finished school, by the way – that he sent her down the runway for Chanel for the first time.

For years, he described her as his “muse”. The two of them made not just fashion history together, but successful photography books and films as well. For years they were considered not merely inseparable but indivisible. But then he is supposed to have said some not very nice things about her – that her time was over and things like that. For a while, they stopped speaking. She didn’t admit that she was hurt, but it’s probably safe to assume she was. He felt misunderstood and misinterpreted. But it can’t have been as bad as all that, because now they’re getting on just fine again.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

Das kleine Schwarze. Zeitlos ist diese Kreation von Coco Chanel aus dem Jahr 1926: ein im Grunde genommen simples untailliertes, knielanges Kleid, weder extravagant geschnitten, noch luxuriös verziert, das gleichwohl die moderne Zeitrechnung in der Mode mit eingeläutet hat.

Gleich zu Beginn wurde es als revolutionär empfunden und brachte die Gemüter kräftig in Wallung. Denn mit der Farbe schwarz war ein Tabu gebrochen. Lange hatte schwarze Kleidung für eine junge Frau als unschicklich gegolten. Schwarz war die Farbe entweder von Witwen oder von verheirateten, erfahrenen Frauen. Junge Frauen sollten lieber Weiß tragen, die Farbe der Unschuld.

Die VOGUE, in der Coco Chanels Entwurf erstmals abgedruckt war, sagte dem ungewöhnlichen Kleidungsstück einen durchschlagenden Erfolg voraus: „Es wird eine Uniform für alle Frauen mit Geschmack werden.“ Und in englischen Zeitungen tauchte der Name auf, der es berühmt machen sollte: „little black dress“.

Madame Chanels entzückender Entwurf entstand aus ihrer Abneigung gegenüber der bisher gültigen Modelinie mit viel Spitze und Korsagen. Beim Anblick dieser überladenen und – in ihren Augen – „elitären“ Garderobe habe sie „Überdruss“ empfunden, erläuterte sie später. Sie setzte ihren eigenen Geschmack dagegen, der sich durch raffinierte Unkompliziertheit definierte. Der Ausdruck Minimalismus wurde damals in der Mode noch nicht benutzt, aber das kleine Schwarze hat eben diesen Trend damals schon gesetzt. Es war der erklärte Wille seiner Schöpferin, es nicht nur den Damen der besseren Gesellschaft als Abendgarderobe anzupassen. Auch Büromädchen, Verkäuferinnen und Arbeiterinnen sollten sich darin wohlfühlen. So wünschte es sich Coco Chanel, und so geschah es.

„Coco Chanel hätte mich sicher nicht ausstehen können.“
– Karl Lagerfeld

Das kleine Schwarze hat alle Moden überdauert. Es war und ist auf eine geniale Art schlicht und geheimnisvoll zugleich. Sein Design ist ohne Schnickschnack und doch – oder gerade deshalb – so verführerisch. Das Kleid ist weder in der Opernloge noch an der Bar fehl am Platz. Auf der Vernissage stellt es so manches ausgestellte Kunststück in den Schatten. Ob auf der Party oder zum Dinner – im kleinen Schwarzen sieht die Gastgeberin meistens hinreißend aus. Kaum eine Gelegenheit gibt es, wo es eine Frau under- oder overdressed wirken lässt.

So hat dieses zeitlose Textil zu Recht seinen Siegeszug durch die Kleiderschränke dieser Welt angetreten, und ebenso zu Recht hat es zahllose bezaubernde Göttinnen der Leinwand geschmückt. In unserem kollektiven Gedächtnis wird für immer das Bild gespeichert sein, wie Audrey Hepburn im Film „Frühstück bei Tiffany“ im kleinen Schwarzen über die New Yorker Fifth Avenue spaziert.

Auf den Spuren von Audrey Hepburn posiert Lily Allen 2009
als das neue CHANEL-Mädchen.

CHEFDESIGNER LAGERFELD:
KÖNIG KARL VON PARIS

Karl Lagerfeld und Chanel kamen erstmals Anfang der 80er Jahre zusammen. Da war Coco Chanel schon neun Jahre tot. Es wird oft behauptet, die beiden hätten sich noch gekannt, was aber nicht stimmt. 2013, am hundertsten Geburtstag der Firma Chanel, meinte „König Karl“ in freundlicher Koketterie, wenn das der Fall gewesen wäre, hätte sie ihn bestimmt nicht ausstehen können.

Es war der Chanel-Chef Alain Wertheimer, der Lagerfeld, nachdem sie sich in Paris kennengelernt hatten, zunächst als Berater für die Haute Couture verpflichtete.

1984 machten die Inhaber ihn zum Chefdesigner, verantwortlich für die gesamte Modesparte, ein Job, den er, mit Abstrichen, heute noch ausübt. In Fachkreisen ist man des Lobes voll, dass und wie Lagerfeld der Marke zu ihrem alten Glanz verholfen habe. Durch ihn sei es gelungen, Chanel auch bei jungen Frauen wieder zu einem tonangebenden Label werden zu lassen.

Es ist wahrscheinlich einmalig in der Modewelt, dass jemand so frei schalten und walten kann wie „König Karl“ bei Chanel. Das Management hat sich nie eingemischt, man ließ ihn stets gewähren, sogar beim Budget. Es hat sich in der Firmenzentrale in Neuilly–sur–Seine auch noch nie jemand im Geringsten an den vielen anderen Verpflichtungen gestört, die Lagerfeld sonst noch in der Luxusbranche hat. Im Gegenteil: Man empfindet das als Bereicherung.

Vor dem Hintergrund von Chanel hat die Beziehung zwischen dem Top-Model Claudia Schiffer und Karl Lagerfeld ihren Ursprung. 1988, übrigens das Jahr, in dem sie Abitur machte, schickte er sie erstmals für Chanel auf den Laufsteg.

Als seine „Muse“ hat er sie jahrelang bezeichnet. Sie haben zusammen Modegeschichte geschrieben, erfolgreiche Fotobücher und Filme gemacht. Man hielt sie jahrelang für nicht nur unzertrennlich, nein: unteilbar. Dann aber soll er ein paar Sachen, die nicht so nett waren, über sie gesagt haben, dass ihre Zeit abgelaufen sei und solche Sachen. Man sprach eine Zeit nicht mehr miteinander. Sie gab nicht zu, dass sie verletzt war, man darf aber annehmen, dass sie es war. Er fühlte sich missverstanden und fehlinterpretiert. War aber dann alles wohl doch nicht so schlimm, denn inzwischen sind sie einander wieder gut.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren