You’re entitled to expect a suitcase to be a practical travelling
companion. But our lightweight metal friend from RIMOWA
is so much more than that: it has joined the ranks of cult
brands to become a fashion statement in its own right.

AS A YOUNG MAN he spent his free time tinkering with the development of the first waterproof camera case. And even today, it’s his thirst for discovery, his love of adventure and his passion for new trends that drive Dieter Morszeck. What’s more, he inherited the innovation gene: RIMOWA is a family business, and he is the third generation of owners at its helm.

The success story of this oldestablished company started back in 1898 with his grandfather Paul Morszeck, who made suitcases, mainly from wood, in his Cologne workshop. Their most important qualities: a lightweight construction, sturdiness and meticulous craftsmanship. In the 1920s, sophisticated globetrotters became enthusiastic fans of the smart yet robust luggage.

Then, in 1937, Richard Morszeck, the founder’s son, produced the first steamer trunk made of lightweight metal – a revolution! He also gave what is now a cult brand its name: Rimowa – an acronym of Richard Morszeck Warenzeichen, his trademark. Today, RIMOWA is automatically associated with grooves.

Inspired by the design of the first all-metal aircraft, the Junkers F13, RIMOWA launched the first-ever aluminium suitcase with parallel grooves in 1950. The look was a sensation – and has been an intrinsic part of the scenery at busy airports and stations for decades.

But the top-quality accessories have become more than just practical travelling companions: they are a fashion statement in their own right, loved as much by the players of Germany’s national football team as they are by Hollywood stars Elizabeth Hurley or Gwyneth Paltrow.

  • slide-1

    The RIMOWA Electronic Tag: check in with an app

  • slide-1

    RIMOWA in Kitzbühel – one of 140 stores around the world

Making new discoveries and constantly enhancing the practical benefits of its products are the very essence of the company’s spirit. The first waterproof lightweight metal case was launched under Dieter Morszeck in 1976, followed in 2000 by the introduction of polycarbonate, a material hitherto only used in aircraft construction. 2001 saw the advent of the new, ball-bearing-mounted wheels, enabling even the heaviest luggage to be turned and manoeuvred effortlessly.

The company’s latest success is the prize-winning RIMOWA Electronic Tag. Using a smartphone app and Bluetooth, travellers can check their suitcase in from wherever they happen to be and hand it over to airport staff in a matter of seconds.

The close connection with aviation has remained a constant. Amateur pilot Dieter Morszeck has transformed Rimowa from a travel companion into a means of travel: this spring he presented his first aircraft, a replica of the legendary Junkers F13 from 1919 that provided the inspiration for the RIMOWA suitcase all those years ago.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

Ein praktischer Reisebegleiter zu sein, das kann man von
einem Koffer wohl verlangen. Unser Freund aus Leichtmetall
von RIMOWA bietet mehr: Er hat sich unter die Kultmarken
eingereiht und ist damit auch ein Fashion-Statement.

ALS JUNGER MANN tüftelte er in seiner Freizeit an der Entwicklung des ersten wasserdichten Kamerakoffers. Entdeckergeist, Abenteuerlust und die Leidenschaft für neue Trends treiben Dieter Morszeck bis heute an. Das Innovations-Gen wurde ihm in die Wiege gelegt: RIMOWA ist ein Familienunternehmen, das er als Inhaber in dritter Generation leitet.

Die Erfolgsgeschichte des Traditionshauses begann 1898 mit Großvater Paul Morszeck. In der Kölner Manufaktur fertigte er Koffer, hauptsächlich aus Holz. Höchster Wert wurde auf leichte Bauweise, Stabilität und präzise Handwerkskunst gelegt. In den 20er Jahren begeisterten anspruchsvolle Globetrotter sich für die edlen und gleichzeitig robusten Reisekoffer.

1937 produzierte Richard Morszeck, der Sohn des Firmengründers, den ersten Überseekoffer aus Leichtmetall – eine Revolution. Er war es auch, der der heutigen Kultmarke ihren Namen gab: Rimowa – ein Akronym aus Richard Morszeck Warenzeichen. Wer heute an RIMOWA denkt, der denkt an Rillen.

Inspiriert vom Design des ersten Vollmetall- Flugzeugs, der Junkers F13, brachte RIMOWA 1950 den ersten Aluminium-Koffer mit parallel gefalzten Rillen auf den Markt. Eine optische Sensation, die seit Jahrzehnten die Bilder auf belebten Flughäfen und Bahnhöfen prägt.

Die hochwertigen Reise-Accessoires wurden nicht nur zum praktischen Reisebegleiter, sie sind auch ein Fashion-Statement: Die Spieler der deutschen Fußball-Nationalmannschaft lieben sie ebenso wie die Hollywood-Stars Elizabeth Hurley oder Gwyneth Paltrow.

  • slide-1

    Die RIMOWA Electronic Tag: Einchecken via App

  • slide-1

    RIMOWA in Kitzbühel – einer von weltweit über 140 Stores

Neues zu entdecken und den Nutzwert immer zu erhöhen, prägt den Geist des Unternehmens. 1976 kam unter Dieter Morszeck der erste wasserdichte Leichtmetallkoffer auf den Markt, 2000 folgte die Verwendung von Polycarbonat, das bis dahin nur beim Flugzeugbau verarbeitet worden war. 2001 dann die neuen kugelgelagerten Kofferrollen, mit denen sich selbst schwere Gepäckstücke mühelos drehen und wenden lassen.

Der jüngste Erfolg ist der preisgekrönte RIMOWA Electronic Tag. Per Smartphone-App und Bluetooth können Reisende ihren Koffer von überall aus einchecken und innerhalb von Sekunden am Flughafen abgeben.

Die enge Verbundenheit zur Luftfahrt bleibt immer präsent. Der Hobby-Pilot Dieter Morszeck hat dafür gesorgt, dass man nun mit Rimowa nicht nur reisen, sondern auch fliegen kann. In diesem Frühjahr hat er sein erstes Flugzeug vorgestellt, einen Nachbau der legendären Junkers F13 von 1919, einst Inspiration für den RIMOWA-Koffer.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren