INTERVIEW BY: ANDREAS ODENWALD
PHOTO BY: INA ZABEL

Managing director Rupert Wild on experience and insight.
On makers and media. On the luxury of beauty and the
beauty of luxury. And on the future, which not even he can
predict. But which he does want to shape.

Mr Wild, your firm goes by the name of WHITE Communications – that’s a very wide-ranging term. How would you explain what your agency does to an outsider?

RUPERT WILD: We’re a communications agency that’s active in the high-end luxury and premium market; we look after brands from the fashion, beauty and lifestyle segments.

Look after …

R.W.: … means two things: first, we do the PR work for the luxury brands we’re entrusted with. That involves coming up with strategies, supplying editors of lifestyle publications with information and photos, that sort of thing. The second area consists of media planning for ad flightings and something we call “buying”. That means negotiating with the publishing houses about which title the ad should appear in and what it will cost.

And are print media still the top priority?

R.W.:Print plays the leading role. Fashion and lifestyle magazines have always been very popular – especially with luxury consumers. But online media have made huge gains – in our order books too. The print media themselves all publish online editions nowadays, some of which even have their own editorial team. Things have changed since the early days: the Internet is no longer a dumping ground forall the topics the editors don’t want in the paper edition. Nowadays the online version is at least just as important as the printed parent magazine. The online edition often has more readers than the print issue …

… and it’s faster.

R.W.: That’s true, but speed isn’t really all that important to us. It’s the quality of the media presence that matters most. Although having said that, it’s really incredible how quickly things go round on the Internet, especially in blogs.

How important is this new blogger scene for you?

R.W.: Very important, it’s grown in leaps and bounds.

Do the dreaded style bloggers in the luxury and fashion segment really have as much power and influence as we keep hearing?

R.W.: Dreaded – that was your word, not mine! Personally, I respect what they do rather than being afraid of them. Most of these bloggers are extremely competent and have very keen instincts when it comes to their opinions and assessments. You can tell how seriously they’re taken nowadays from the fact that they’re seated in the front row at fashion shows, next to the likes of Anna Wintour, editor in-chief of American VOGUE. That would have been unthinkable in the past. You could say they’re the industry’s new stars.


So the industry respects them, but do they shape buyers’ opinions as well?

R.W.: The buyers have an open-minded attitude towards bloggers and definitely see them as a source of inspiration – in the sense that they welcome diversity of opinion. But what’s said in the blogs doesn’t have a great deal of influence on their actual buying behaviour.

Back to WHITE: are media planning and PR two separate things or are they interlinked?

R.W.: Some of our clients only use the services of our media department. And others realise the added value they stand to gain if they entrust us not just with their advertising strategy but with their PR as well.

Does being an advertising customer make your PR work with the publisher’s editorial staff easier?

R.W.:Once, when I wanted to “sell” a certain luxury theme to an editor at (German daily) FAZ, I subtly hinted that the company concerned ran ads in his publication. To which he politely replied that, as an editor, he couldn’t care less who advertised in his newspaper. Even so, editorial independence from the owner of the publication – which many publishers used to consider sacrosanct – has declined drastically. Nowadays publishers are more likely to contemplate offering companies that book advertising space a bit of “editorial content”. And that’s where the two things are interlinked, as you called it. Which is not without its practical advantages for us as an agency.

How do advertising strategies for online publications compare to those for print media? Is it the same game, just on a different playing field, or do new rules apply online?

R.W.:The first rule of good media planning is the same everywhere, regardless of the medium: we want to reach the target audience. But how? Nowadays, the online sector offers totally different possibilities as compared to classic magazine advertising, where a spread in VOGUE is the measure of all things. Five or six years ago, when we sensed that something breathtakingly new was heading ourway, we rose to the challenge and set up our own, very competent online unit. The people who run it know exactly what they’re doing. There was one thing we learned pretty quickly: the old rule that the Internet and luxury are mutually exclusive has ceased to apply. Especially when it comes to young people, brand consciousness is heavily influenced by online usage habits.

“Most bloggers are extremely competent and have
very keen instincts when itcomes to their opinions
and assessments. You can tell how seriously
they’re taken nowadays from the fact that they’re
seated in the front row at fashion shows, next to
the likes of Anna Wintour, editor in-chief of
American VOGUE.”

So what can online do that print can’t?

R.W.:There’s a certain target-group-oriented technology that can deliver incredible benefits if you know how to use it. I’m talking about what we callad server systems. Let me give you an example: we want to reach a certain group of people who are interested in fashion, let’s say male white-collarworkers aged about 30. You can set the system up sothat an advertising banner on GQ, STERN ONLINE or whatever portal you like is only ever shown when somebody who belongs to this particular group really is on the relevant website at that particular moment. You could say he’s effectively getting a personal presentation.

Do you use market research to zero in on your target groups as well?

R.W.:Of course, at least in the early stages. But there too, certain server systems from e.g. Google or Facebook do some of the work for us in terms of minimising wastage.

Does that mean classic market research has had its day?

R.W.: Absolutely not, it’s just as essential as ever. It’s vital for me to know which target group I’m actually trying to reach with my brand. We collaborate very closely with Sinus in Heidelberg. The company provides extremely reliable information – not just about the consumers’ social class or regional background, but about their milieu, as they call it. In this day and age, segmentation based only on the classic parameters (i.e. age, family status, income, lower, middle or upper class) just isn’t enough for modern media planning. Sinus defines various different target groups within the upper class, for instance: conservatives, liberals and modern consumers who like to try new things. So it makes good sense to investigate the milieus in more depth. Are there people within these groups who don’t know my brand yet? Which media channels does a certain milieu use, which publications, which websites? That’s all very valuable information. We also look at things the other way round to see which milieu the brand is trending in at a given time, so that we can then target that milieu with the right media.

Aren’t there any brands that cross the dividing lines between different milieus?

R.W.: There are some, but they tend to be rare. ROLEX is one such brand. CHANEL too. But for the most part, the challenge lies in making a certain product attractive to a certain milieu. One branch that’s mastered the art is the car industry.


You started out as an advertising agency for clients from all sorts of fields. How did you come to specialise in the luxury segment?

R.W.:That’s a development that started in the late 1990s and is inextricably linked with the name BULGARI. Working with them was a game-changer and, in all modesty, our masterpiece.

So how exactly did a family-run company from Rome hit on a young German agency that was still in its early days and consisted of five people working in an office on the edge of the Englischer Garten in Munich?

R.W.: Well, I was sitting with an Italian business partner that I’d worked on a nice project with. We’d become friends and were having a bit of a brainstorming session about the best way to approach the Italians. And credit where credit’s due: it was actually him who came up with the idea of doing a classic mailing. That might not sound very exciting from today’s perspective, I know, but even the simplest ideas have to be thought of first. We wrote to 30 companies, and BULGARI was one of them.They expressed interest, so we flew to Rome and I presented a media, PR and marketing concept for BULGARI on the German market.

But BULGARI had already had a presence in Germany before, what was new about your ideas?

R.W.: Germany had been a niche market for them up until that point. They weren’t investing more than 500,000 marks a year in marketing – but my concept was based on six times that amount: three million marks. I suggested developing the BULGARI brand totally from scratch in Germany by raising awareness, building it up and making meaningful investments so that, eventually, they’d be able to sell their products and make money. I was pretty awestruck, you can imagine. I remember it as if it was yesterday. Finally, Signore Trappani, the boss, said: “You’ve got the job and you’ve got the money, be careful with it!”

That’s quite an accolade.

R.W.: It certainly is. But we really knuckled down and worked all the hours god gave us – hours, days and nights at a time. We lived with and for BULGARI watches, BULGARI jewellery and BULGARI fragrance brands. We worked for this wonderful Roman family business right up until it was sold to luxury group LVMH in 2011. It was a time that had a profound impact on my life and I’ll never forget it.

”The old rule that the Internet and luxury are
mutually exclusive has ceased to apply. Especially
when it comes to young people, online usage
habits are influencing brand consciousness more
than ever before.”

Probably partly because BULGARI opened the door to a whole new world as well.

R.W.: That’s right. Changing direction and getting into the luxury and premium segment was great fun. Everything worked out really well, we grew into our new role and it wasn’t long before word got round the industry that there were some luxury experts based in Munich’s Lodenfrey-Park. That’s when the others started coming to us: PRADA, LUXOTTICA, RIMOWA, FURLA. We were in!

How should an outsider picture business practices in the luxury segment? Is it just as luxurious when it comes to spending money?

R.W.:(laughs) The budgets are a whole lot smaller than you’d think, they’re nowhere near as high as in the car industry, they spend hundreds of times as much.

For you personally, what’s the attraction of working with and for luxury brands?

R.W.: Right from the start, I’ve always found it fascinating to see how the firms and stores deal with their customers. They offer a very special service: the presentation setting is totally different than normal, for instance. They might book a suite in a hotel for showing jewellery. The customer can make a bid, but it’s not necessarily the one who offers the most money who actually ends up with the item. It might be the person who shows the greatest appreciation for the product. The special style, the special treatment, the courteous, even kind demeanour, the choice of words and the good manners – all of that is incredibly impressive. It’s a beautiful world, beautifully staged right the way down to the smart bag customers are handed their purchases in. A world where nothing jars, where everything is at the highest aesthetic level imaginable. And yet each and every brand has its own very special, unique character.

Isn’t there a danger that this individual character will be lost if more and more family businesses are bought up by the big multinational luxury groups?

R.W.:There’s no denying the risk. Centralisation, overarching management and uniform marketing strategies might make economic sense, but whether they do the brand’s special, unique spirit any good isa totally different story. It’s a terrible pity when there’s no longer a member of the founding family there to hold a protective hand over the brand’s traditions, just stressed managers under pressure to succeed who don’t really understand the brand properly and only want to skim the cream. You sense that in their communications, nice events are dropped and the desire to stage and celebrate the brand and its products fades.


You mean they worry too much about little things rather than trying to stage a dazzling drama …

R.W.: Talking of drama: there was a story they told us in Rome back then. Hollywood star Elizabeth Taylor was a big fan of BULGARI. Whenever she signed a new contract, she didn’t just want her fee written into it but the guarantee that she’d get apiece of BULGARI jewellery as well. It’s precisely that kind of story that’s responsible for a brand’s fascination, not just the perfect craftsmanship.

The way you’ve just described it, the luxury business sounds like a match with four players: the manufacturer, the communicator – i.e. you –, the medium and the consumer. If we take a speculative look into the future: do you think the lineup is going to stay just the way it is? And more specifically: what challenges can the communicator expect to be confronted with?

R.W.: The lineup, as you call it, will essentially stay the same. But that doesn’t mean we can afford to ignore that we’re facing one of the biggest challenges of the last 10 or 15 years. The Internet has turned everything upside down. And in view of consumers’ growing acceptance of it, I think it’s fair to call it a paradigm shift. We just have to adapt.

And how are you going about that?

R.W.:For instance by stepping up the comprehensive consulting service we offer our partners in terms of their options for the best-possible presentation strategy. The consulting element has always played a major role in our service portfolio, but now we’ve given it even more weight by founding a new task force that focuses on analysis and strategy: WHITE Consult. The name stands for a team of experts – some of them in-house, some external – that includes media creatives, pollsters and experienced market experts. Its job is to investigate in even more depth what makes a brand special,where it wants to go and what constitutes the optimal strategy for its advertising – insights that are crucially important for the advice we give our clients. Just now you asked me about the future, and that’s basically what WHITE Consult’s motto is all about: “Creating future”. That’s the challenge we have to rise to.

“It’s a terrible pity when there’s no longer a
member of the founding family there to hold a
protective hand over the brand’s traditions, just
stressed managers under pressure to succeed who
don’t really understand the brand properly and
only want to skim the cream.”

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

DAS INTERVIEW FÜHRTE: ANDREAS ODENWALD am 11. April 2016
FOTO: INA ZABEL

Firmenchef Rupert Wild über Erfahrungen und
Erkenntnisse. Über Macher und Medien. Über den Luxus der
Schönheit und das Schöne am Luxus. Und über die
Zukunft, die auch er nicht voraussagen kann, aber gestalten
will.

Herr Wild, Ihre Firma heißt WHITE-Communications, das ist begrifflich zunächst mal ein weites Feld. Wie erklären Sie einem Outsider die Tätigkeit Ihrer Agentur?

RUPERT WILD: Als Kommunikationsagentur sind wir im gehobenen Luxus- und Premiummarkt tätig, betreuen Marken aus dem Fashion- und Beautybereich, auch aus dem Bereich Lifestyle.

Betreuen…

R.W.: …heißt zweierlei: Zum einen übernehmen wir die PR-Arbeit für die uns anvertrauten Luxusmarken. Dafür erarbeiten wir Strategien, versorgen die Redaktionen von Lifestyle-Publikationen mit Informationen, Bild- und Videomaterial. Das zweite Feld sind die Mediaplanung für die Kampagnen und das, was wir Einkauf nennen. Damit ist gemeint: das Verhandeln mit den Geschäftspartnern, in welchem Umfeld wir stattfinden und was es kostet.

Haben dabei die Medien des gedruckten Wortes noch Vorrang?

R.W.: Vor zwei Jahren hätte ich noch gesagt: ja unbedingt. Heute haben sich die Kräfte verschoben, teilweise ganz erheblich. Sicher, neben digitalen Medien und Influencer-Marketing liegt Printwerbung für die Luxusmarken immer noch ganz weit vorne. Gerade bei Luxuskunden sind Fashion- und Lifestyle-Magazine traditionell hoch im Kurs. Aber die Online-Medien haben enorm zugelegt – auch in unserem Auftragsbuch. Die Printmedien selbst haben ja heute alle online- Ausgaben, teilweise mit eigenem redaktionellen Team ausgestattet. Online ist nicht mehr, wie zu Anfang, die Müllhalde für alle die Themen, die man nicht im Heft haben will, sondern heute mindestens genauso wichtig wie das gedruckte Mutterblatt. Online hat ja oft schon mehr Leser als Print …

… und ist auch schneller.

R.W.: Das auch, aber auf Schnelligkeit kommt es uns nicht wirklich an. Unser Hauptaugenmerk gilt der Qualität des Auftritts. Allerdings ist es höchst erstaunlich, wie schnell heute die Dinge im Netz, in den Blogs kursieren.

Wie wichtig ist diese neue Blogger-und Influencer-Szene für Sie?

R.W.: Sehr wichtig, die ist sprunghaft angewachsen.

Sind Macht und Einfluss der gefürchteten Stil-Bloggerinnen im Luxus- und Fashionbereich tatsächlich so groß, wie man immer wieder hört?

R.W.: Gefürchtet – das haben Sie gesagt. Ich persönlich fürchte sie nicht, habe aber Respekt vor ihrer Leistung. Die meisten dieser Blogger und Influencer bringen ein hohes Maß an Kompetenz mit, sind meinungs- und urteilsstark. Wie ernst sie genommen werden, sieht man daran, dass sie schon längst in den Fashion-Shows in der ersten Reihe sitzen, neben den etablierten Chefredakteurinnen der Modemagazine. Das wäre früher undenkbar gewesen. Heute sind sie in der Branche so etwas wie die neuen Stars.

In der Branche respektiert, aber spielen sie auch beim Käufer eine meinungsbildende Rolle?

R.W.: Die Käufer sind ihnen gegenüber aufgeschlossen und lassen sich – im Sinne der Meinungsvielfalt – durchaus inspirieren. Allerdings – es gibt auch schwarze Schafe in der Szene,  die qualitativ und quantitativ mit ihren Followern schummeln. Da muss man aufpassen.

Zurück zu WHITE: Sind Mediaplanung und PR unabhängig voneinander oder eher verzahnt?

R.W.: Wir haben Kunden, die nur von der Mediaabteilung betreut werden. Und solche, die den Mehrwert für sich erkennen, wenn sie uns zusätzlich zur Anzeigenstrategie auch die PR-Arbeit anvertrauen.

Vereinfacht es die PR-Arbeit in den Redaktionen, wenn man auch Anzeigenkunde beim Verlag ist?

R.W.: Ich habe mal einem Redakteur der FAZ, dem ich ein bestimmtes Luxusthema „verkaufen“ wollte, diskret zu verstehen gegeben, dass das betreffende Unternehmen in seinem Blatt Anzeigen schaltet. Darauf antwortete er freundlich, dass es ihm für seine redaktionelle Arbeit egal sei, wer in der Zeitung inseriert. Diese – einst in vielen Häusern unantastbare – Unabhängigkeit der Redaktion vom Verlag hat aber stark abgenommen. Heute überlegen sich Verlage schon, ob man nicht denen, die bei ihnen buchen, auch ein bisschen „editorial content“ anbieten sollte. Und das ist dann die Verzahnung, wie Sie es nennen. Sie ist für uns als Agentur nicht unpraktisch.

Wie muss man sich, im Vergleich zu den Printmedien, Anzeigenstrategien bei Online-Titeln vorstellen? Ist es das gleiche Spiel nur auf einem anderen Feld oder gelten online neue Spielregeln?

R.W.: Paragraf Eins einer guten Mediaplanung ist überall derselbe, egal für welches Medium: Wir wollen die Zielgruppe erreichen. Aber wie? Im Online-Bereich bestehen da heute ganz andere Möglichkeiten als in der klassischen Zeitschriftenwerbung, wo eine edle Doppelseite in der VOGUE das Maß aller Dinge ist. Als wir vor fünf, sechs Jahren spürten, dass da etwas atemberaubend Neues auf uns zu kommt, haben wir uns der Herausforderung gestellt und eine eigene, kompetente Online-Unit aufgebaut. Da sitzen Mitarbeiter, die sich perfekt auskennen. Was wir ziemlich schnell gelernt haben: Die alte Regel, wonach Internet und Luxus einander ausschließen, gilt schon lange nicht mehr. Gerade bei jungen Menschen wird das Markenbewusstsein stark durch ihre Online-Nutzungsgewohnheiten geprägt.

„Die meisten BloggerInnen bringen ein hohes 

Mass an Kompetenz mit, sind meinungs- und
urteilsstark. Wie ernst sie genommen werden,
sieht man daran, dass sie mittlerweile in den
Fashion-Shows in der ersten Reihe sitzen, neben
einer Anna Wintour, Chefredakteurin der
amerikanischen Vogue.“

Was kann denn Online, was Print nicht kann?

R.W.: Es gibt da eine zielgruppenorientierte Technologie, die, wenn man sie beherrscht, unglaubliche Vorteile bietet. Gemeint sind die sogenannten Ad-Server-Systeme. Ein Beispiel: Es soll eine am Thema Fashion interessierte bestimmte Personengruppe erreicht werden, sagen wir, so um die 30, männlich, aus der Berufsgruppe der Angestellten. Nun kann man das so einrichten, dass ein Werbebanner auf GQ, STERN ONLINE oder welchem Portal auch immer nur dann gezeigt wird, wenn ein Angehöriger dieser Gruppe auch wirklich gerade auf der entsprechenden Website unterwegs ist. Er bekommt also, wenn Sie so wollen, eine quasi persönliche Präsentation.

Betreiben Sie zur Einkreisung Ihrer Zielgruppen auch Marktforschung?

R.W.: Im Vorfeld, selbstverständlich. Aber auch da nehmen uns heute bestimmte Server-Systeme, beispielsweise von Google oder Facebook, beim Minimieren von Streuverlusten einen Teil der Arbeit ab.

Heißt das, die klassische Marktforschung hat ausgedient?

R.W.: Absolut nicht, sie ist nach wie vor unverzichtbar. Ich muss ja wissen, welche Zielgruppe ich mit meiner Marke überhaupt erreichen will. Wir arbeiten sehr eng mit Sinus in Heidelberg zusammen. Die Firma liefert äußerst verlässliche Informationen nicht nur in Bezug auf die soziale Schicht der Konsumenten oder deren regionalen Background, sondern auch auf die Milieus, wie das dort genannt wird. Für eine Mediaplanung nur nach den klassischen Parametern zu segmentieren, also Alter, Familienstand, Einkommen, Unter-, Mittel- oder Oberschicht, ist in der heutigen Zeit zu wenig. Innerhalb der Oberschicht zum Beispiel definiert Sinus durchaus unterschiedliche Zielgruppen: die konservative, die liberale, die moderne, die gern Neues ausprobiert. Es liegt also nahe, die Milieus weiter zu erkunden. Gibt es dort Leute, die meine Marke noch nicht kennen? Welche Medienkanäle nutzt dieses Milieu, welche Titel, welche Webseiten? Das alles sind wertvolle Informationen. Umgekehrt schauen wir auch, in welchem Milieu die Marke gerade angesagt ist, und bewerben dieses Milieu dann mit den richtigen Medien.

Gibt es nicht auch Milieugrenzen überschreitende Marken?

R.W.: Gibt es, aber eher selten. ROLEX ist so ein Fall. Auch CHANEL. Meistens aber besteht die Kunst darin, ein bestimmtes Produkt für ein bestimmtes Milieu attraktiv zu machen. Meisterhaft beherrscht das die Autoindustrie.

Sie haben als Werbeagentur angefangen, für Kunden aller Sparten. Wie hat sich die Spezialisierung auf das Luxus-Segment ergeben?

R.W.: Der Beginn dieser Entwicklung, gegen Ende der 90er Jahre, ist untrennbar mit dem Namen BULGARI verbunden. Die Arbeit mit diesem Haus hat uns den Weg gewiesen und war, in aller Bescheidenheit, unser Meisterstück.

Wie kam ein römisches Familienunternehmen ausgerechnet auf eine noch junge deutsche Agentur mit fünf Angestellten am Rande des Englischen Gartens in München?

R.W.: Ich saß damals mit einem italienischen Geschäftspartner zusammen, mit dem ich bei einem Projekt gut zusammengearbeitet und mich angefreundet hatte, und wir betrieben ein wenig Brainstorming. Wie können wir uns den Italienern nähern, das war unsere Frage. Er – Ehre, wem Ehre gebührt – hatte dann die Idee eines klassischen Mailings. Klingt aus heutiger Sicht nicht gerade aufregend, ich weiß, aber auch auf die einfachen Dinge muss man ja erstmal kommen. 30 Unternehmen schrieben wir an, darunter eben auch BULGARI. Und die signalisierten Interesse. Also flogen wir nach Rom, und ich präsentierte: ein Medien-, PR- und Marketingkonzept für BULGARI auf dem deutschen Markt.

BULGARI war doch aber auch schon vorher in Deutschland präsent gewesen, worin bestand das Neue?

R.W.: Deutschland war bisher für sie ein Nischenmarkt gewesen. Mehr als 500.000 Mark pro Jahr für Marketing wurden nicht investiert – in meinem Entwurf aber war von sechsmal so viel die Rede: drei Millionen Mark. Ich schlug vor, die Marke BULGARI in Deutschland ganz neu zu entwickeln, bekannt zu machen, aufzubauen, sinnvolle Investments zu tätigen, um am Ende des Tages auch noch Umsatz zu machen und Geld zu verdienen. Dass ich ordentlich Respekt hatte, können Sie sich denken. Schließlich, ich höre noch seine Worte, sagte der Chef, Signore Trappani: Ihr habt den Job und Ihr habt das Geld, geht sorgsam damit um.

Ein Ritterschlag?

R.W.: Kann man so sagen. Wir haben uns aber auch richtig reingekniet in die Arbeit, stunden-, tage-, nächtelang. Wir lebten mit und für BULGARI-Uhren, BULGARI-Schmuck und BULGARI-Duftmarken. Bis es 2011 an den Luxuskonzern LVMH verkauft wurde, haben wir dieses wunderbare römische Familienunternehmen betreut, eine prägende Zeit, die ich nie vergessen werde.

„Die alte Regel, wonach Internet und Luxus
einander ausschliessen, gilt schon lange nicht
mehr. Gerade bei jungen Menschen wird das
Markenbewusstsein mehr denn je durch ihre
Online-Nutzungsgewohnheiten geprägt.“

Wohl auch deshalb, weil BULGARI der Türöffner in eine neue Welt war.

R.W.: So ist es. Der Schwenk in dieses Luxus- und Premiumsegment hat uns ungeheuren Spaß gemacht. Es funktionierte alles richtig gut, wir wuchsen in unsere neue Rolle hinein, und es dauerte nicht lange, bis es sich in der Branche herumgesprochen hatte, da im Lodenfreygelände an der Osterwaldstraße sitzen die Experten für Luxus. Und dann kamen die anderen: PRADA, LUXOTTICA, RIMOWA, FURLA. Wir waren drin.

Wie muss man sich eigentlich das Geschäftsgebaren in der Luxusbranche vorstellen? Ist sie auch besonders luxuriös im Geldausgeben?

R.W.:(lacht) Die Budgets sind wesentlich kleiner als man denkt, nicht zu vergleichen etwa mit denen der Automobilindustrie, die um ein Hundertfaches größer sind.

Worin besteht für Sie ganz persönlich der Reiz, mit und für Luxusunternehmen zu arbeiten?

R.W.: Es war für mich von Anfang an faszinierend und ist es noch, wie in den Firmen und in den Geschäften mit den Kunden umgegangen wird. Da wird ein besonderer Service angeboten, der Präsentationsrahmen ist ganz anders als sonst üblich. Eine Suite im Hotel etwa, in der Schmuckstücke offeriert werden. Der Kunde kann ein Gebot abgeben, und es ist nicht zwangsläufig so, dass derjenige, der die höchste Summe nennt, den Zuschlag bekommt. Es kann auch der sein, der dem Produkt die höchste Wertschätzung entgegenbringt. Der besondere Stil, das ganze Handling, der höfliche, ja liebenswürdige Umgang, Wortwahl und gute Manieren – das alles ist außerordentlich beeindruckend. Eine schöne Welt, schön inszeniert bis runter zur edlen Tragetasche. Eine Welt ohne Misstöne, auf hohem ästhetischen Niveau. Und jede Marke hat dabei ihren ganz eigenen, unverwechselbaren Charakter.

Besteht nicht die Gefahr, dass dieser individuelle Charakter verloren geht, wenn mehr und mehr Familienbetriebe von den großen Luxus-Multis aufgekauft werden?

R.W.: Das ist nicht von der Hand zu weisen. Zentralisierung, übergeordnetes Management und Einheitsmarketing mögen wirtschaftlich vernünftig sein, aber ob sie dem speziellen, unverwechselbaren Spirit der Marke gut tun, steht auf einem anderen Blatt. Wenn keiner aus der Gründerfamilie mehr da ist, um seine schützende Hand über die Markentradition zu halten, und stattdessen gehetzte Manager, die diese Marke nicht richtig verstehen und unter Erfolgsdruck stehen, nur noch abschöpfen wollen, ist das jammerschade. Man spürt das in der Kommunikation, schöne Events werden gestrichen, die Lust am Inszenieren und Zelebrieren schwindet.


Klein-Klein statt großes Kino…

R.W.: … großes Kino, da fällt mir die Geschichte ein, die man uns damals in Rom erzählte: Hollywood-Star Elizabeth Taylor war ein großer Fan von BULGARI. In jeden neuen Vertrag ließ sie sich nicht nur ihre Gage reinschreiben, sondern auch die Zusicherung eines BULGARI-Schmuckstückes. Solche Storys machen ja auch die Faszination einer bestimmten Marke aus, nicht nur die handwerkliche Perfektion.

Die Seele der Marke…

R:W: Genau, die Seele. Auf der Luxuskonferenz von Condé Nast im April 2018 hat Alexandre Arnault, Sohn des legendären Luxuskonzern-Chefs und heute CEO von Rimowa, einen Satz gesagt, der mich sehr beeindruckt hat: „Quality und Intensity machen eine Luxusmarke aus.“ Das kann ich nur unterstreichen.

Das Luxus-Business, so wie Sie es hier geschildert haben, stellt sich dar als ein Match mit vier Playern: der Hersteller, der Kommunikator – also

Sie –, das Medium, der Verbraucher. Wird es, wenn wir mal einen Blick in die Zukunft riskieren, bei dieser Aufstellung bleiben? Und, noch konkreter: Welche Herausforderungen erwartet der Kommunikator für seinen Part?

R.W.: Die Aufstellung, wie Sie das nennen, wird im Wesentlichen so bestehen bleiben. Das heißt aber nicht, dass wir die Augen davor verschließen dürfen, vor einer der größten Herausforderungen der letzten zehn, 15 Jahre zu stehen. Das Internet hat alles umgekrempelt. Angesichts der zunehmenden Akzeptanz dieses Mediums kann man durchaus von einem Paradigmenwechsel sprechen. Wir müssen uns darauf einstellen.

Wie gehen Sie dabei vor?

R.W.:Indem wir zum Beispiel das Element der umfassenden Beratung unserer Partner in Hinblick auf ihre Möglichkeiten, sich optimal zu präsentieren, noch verstärken. Die Beratung hat in unserem Dienstleistungsportfolio schon immer eine große Rolle gespielt, aber jetzt haben wir ihr mit der Gründung einer neuen analytisch und strategisch ausgerichteten Arbeitsgruppe noch mehr Gewicht gegeben: WHITE-Consult. Hinter diesem Namen verbirgt sich ein Team aus Experten sowohl unseres Hauses, als auch von außen, darunter Medienschaffende, Demoskopen, erfahrene Marktkenner. Seine Aufgabe ist es, noch präziser auszuloten, was das Besondere einer Marke ausmacht, wo sie hin will, worin die optimale Strategie besteht, für sie zu werben – Erkenntnisse, die für unsere Kundenberatung von höchster Wichtigkeit sind. Sie haben nach der Zukunft gefragt – tatsächlich ist dies das Motto, das WHITE-Consult sich auf die Fahnen geschrieben hat: „Creating future / engaging today’s luxury consumer“. Das ist sie, die Herausforderung, der wir uns zu stellen haben.

„Wenn keiner aus der Gründerfamilie mehr da
ist, um seine schützende Hand über die
Markentradition zu halten, und stattdessen
gehetzte Manager, die diese Marke nicht richtig
verstehen und unter Erfolgsdruck stehen, nur
noch abschöpfen wollen, ist das jammerschade.“

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren