Logic is everything and without logic everything is nothing. That’s how digitalisation and connectivity shape our view of the world. Algorithms, i.e. essentially the linkage of numbers, data and information in accordance with mathematical and scientific principles, provide the framework for “artificial” intelligence, or AI for short.

At first glance, it already seems as if there’s no way round AI. Or is there? There’s certainly no need to take such a fatalistic view as Stephen Hawking. The recently deceased physicist anticipated that robots would soon replace humanity entirely, requiring us to classify artificial intelligence as a “new lifeform”. In Silicon Valley, there’s a “smaller” version of AI that nevertheless makes ambitious promises for the future. For visionaries from the Bay Area, cognitive science, digitised human-machine interaction, Alexa, Animoji and Google’s photo analysis are just the beginning, autonomous driving just the next logical step towards ever more comprehensive connectivity.

At the end of the journey – which may well lie in the not too distant future – they believe artificial intelligence will have successfully entered every area of life. Ideally, of course, it will be a blessing for humanity rather than making it superfluous.

In many areas, artificial intelligence is already a door-opener to a world of new possibilities. When it comes to achieving an optimal campaign performance, for instance. WHITE is already using AI very successfully in order to understand the interests and habits of potential consumers by analysing millions of data points and allocating all sorts of different contexts from consumers’ respective lifeworlds in real time; it then uses the resulting insights as a basis for deriving bespoke, personalised marketing and sales activities.

WHITE incorporates five different types of data in its AI analysis: consumer data (age, website visits etc.), contextual data (time of day, weather etc.), creative data (call to action, headline etc.), campaign data (clicks, viewability, frequency etc.) and, last but not least, cost data (spendings per impression, win/loss bidding data).

AI thus follows its inherent mathematical and computational logic, while algorithms effectively establish links between millions of potential consumer, contextual, campaign, creative and cost signals in real time, evaluate them and thus make a campaign universally transparent and analysable at any time.

Nevertheless, it would be fatal to leave all the thinking to artificial intelligence. There is always a need for qualitative decisions too, which can’t always be readily found in binary code. If, for example, millennials are identified as a very active and attractive target audience in the luxury segment, an automated KPI check will almost definitely focus the AI campaign management on corresponding persona characteristics such as age and education first. However, we know from experience that millennials’ typical patterns of behaviour are more likely to originate from their milieu and environment. And then being a millennial is not primarily a question of age, but a much farther-reaching projection of personal expectations and a preferred lifeworld design.

Social networking has long since ceased to be the primary digital characteristic of generations Y and Z. The baby boomers, i.e. today’s 50- and 60-year-olds, are at least equally keen on social media brand experiences. In other words: it’s well worth taking a very close look, getting a sense of milieus and their dynamics and consequently formulating the one original, creative idea that can evolve into a strategy, which AI can then work its magic on with the infinite power of its algorithms. Especially in luxury marketing, there’s no way round the qualitative decision-making skills and “brain” of the professionals.

But how does such a “brain” perform in a direct comparison with AI? In order to find out, WHITE recently partnered with a client to conduct an AI field experiment in programmatic advertising: a campaign with the same budget, but once with and once without AI support.

The result: with AI, the programmatic advertising achieved three times the amount of page impressions, and thus also significantly more clicks. However, the AI system had to go through its “learning phase” first, which meant gathering data for its ongoing optimisation. During this time, our “manually” steered campaign without AI averaged slightly better click and conversion rates. Based on its own experience of the market, WHITE had used “empirical” targeting from the word go and was therefore able to address the “right” users quickly and accurately right from the start.

The learning from this field experiment: artificial and “natural” intelligence can certainly be an attractive combination if the latter is based on experience and knowledge, in which case this approach is state of the art both creatively and technologically speaking. AI campaigns work if they are based on genuine knowledge rather than assumptions and hypotheses. This is the essential foundation for self-learning systems, which derive their benefits from continuous optimisation and adaptation to changing social and economic conditions. It can be measured by e.g. click rates (CTR), by precisely tracked coverage or by conversions and lead generation.

That all sounds very complex – and it is! However, the clever combination of human and artificial intelligence makes this complexity manageable and controllable. When based on original, creative ideas from professionals, data analytics in combination with programmatic advertising can take AI campaigns to a new, higher strategic level. The logic behind it: advertising and marketing pay off – for those who are prepared for anything thanks to high-performance systems and digital reasoning. Although AI cannot replace thinking and creative conceptualisation, it can provide tools and capacities that turn intelligent campaigning into a whole lot of thoroughly analogue fun.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

fbpx

Logik ist alles und ohne Logik ist alles nichts. Die Digitalisierung und Vernetzung bestimmen damit unseren Blick auf die Welt. Algorithmen, also der quasi mathematisch-naturgesetzliche Zusammenhang von Zahlen, Daten und Informationen, bilden das Gerüst der „künstlichen“ Intelligenz (kurz KI oder AI, das englische Kürzel für Artificial Intelligence).
Auf den ersten Blick führt heute an KI schon kein Weg vorbei. Oder doch? Man muss dabei ja nicht gleich so fatalistisch denken wie Stephen Hawking. Der jüngst verstorbene Physiker rechnete damit, dass Roboter schon bald die Menschheit vollständig ablösen würden und Künstliche Intelligenz dann als eine „neue Lebensform“ eingestuft werden müsste. Im Silicon Valley gibt es KI auch eine Nummer „kleiner“, aber mit dennoch anspruchsvollen Zukunftsverheißungen. Cognitive-Science, digitalisierte Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion, Alexa, Animoji und Fotoanalyse bei Google sind für Visionäre aus Bay Area nur der Anfang, Autonomes Fahren nur ein logischer nächster Schritt einer immer umfassenderen Vernetzung.
Am Ende des Weges – und der könnte in einer nicht allzu fernen Zukunft liegen – soll Künstliche Intelligenz Einzug in alle Lebensbereiche gehalten haben. Idealerweise natürlich zum Segen der Menschheit, nicht um sie überflüssig zu machen.

Schon jetzt ist Künstliche Intelligenz in vielen Bereichen der Türöffner in eine Welt neuer Möglichkeiten. Wie zum Beispiel für das Erreichen einer optimalen Kampagnenperformance. WHITE nutzt KI bereits heute sehr erfolgreich, um in Echtzeit aus der Analyse von Millionen Daten und der Zuordnung unterschiedlichster Kontexte aus den jeweiligen Lebenswelten die Interessen und Gewohnheiten potenzieller Konsumenten zu erfassen und daraus passgenaue, individualisierte Marketing- und Sales-Aktivitäten abzuleiten.
In die KI-Analyse von WHITE fließen dazu fünf verschiedene Arten von Daten ein: Consumer Data (Alter, Website Visits etc.), Contextual data (Uhrzeit, Wetter etc.), Creative data (Call to Action, Headline etc.), Campaign data (Clicks, Viewability, Frequency etc.) sowie Cost data ( Spendings für Impression, win/loss beim Bidding).
KI folgt damit der in ihr angelegten mathematisch-informatorischen Logik, Algorithmen stellen quasi in Echtzeit Verknüpfungen von Millionen potenzieller Konsumenten-, Kontext-, Kampagnen-, Kreativ- und Kostensignale her, bewerten diese und machen so eine Kampagne zu jedem Zeitpunkt umfassend transparent und analysierbar.

Dennoch wäre es fatal, das Denken komplett der Künstlichen Intelligenz zu überlassen. Es bedarf immer auch qualitativer Entscheidungen, die sich nicht immer ohne Weiteres im binären Code finden lassen. Wenn beispielsweise im Luxussegment die Millennials als sehr aktive und attraktive Zielgruppe identifiziert werden, rücken in einem automatisierten KPI-Check sehr wahrscheinlich als erstes entsprechende Persona-Merkmale wie Alter und Ausbildungsstand in den Fokus der KI-Kampagnensteuerung. Wir wissen aber aus Erfahrung, dass Millennial-typische Verhaltensmuster eher einer Milieu- und Lebensweltenprägung entspringen. Und dann ist das Millennial-Sein keineswegs primär eine Frage des Alters, sondern vielmehr eine viel weiter reichendere Projektion persönlicher Erwartungen und eines präferierten Lebensweltenzuschnitts.
Social Networking ist längst nicht mehr das primäre Digitalmerkmal der Generation Y und Z. Die Babyboomer, also die heute 50- und 60-Jährigen, sind mindestens genauso scharf auf Social-Media-Marken-Erlebnisse. Mit anderen Worten: Es lohnt sich, ganz genau hinzuschauen, ein Gespür für Milieus und ihre Dynamik zu bekommen und daraus den einen originären, kreativen Gedanken zu fassen, aus dem eine Strategie werden und darauf aufbauend KI mit der grenzenlosen Kraft ihrer Algorithmen wirken kann. An der qualitativen Entscheidungskompetenz und am „Brain“ der Profis führt gerade im Luxusmarketing kein Weg vorbei.

Aber wie schneidet eben ein solches „Brain“ im direkten Vergleich mit KI ab? Dazu hat WHITE unlängst gemeinsam mit einem Kunden einen KI-Feldversuch im Programmatic Advertising gestartet: eine Kampagne zu jeweils gleichem Budget einmal mit und einmal ohne KI-Unterstützung.

Das Ergebnis: Mit KI erzielte das Programmatic Advertising die dreifache Menge an Page-Impressions und dadurch auch signifikant mehr Klicks. Allerdings musste das KI-System erst einmal seine „Lernphase“ durchlaufen und dazu Daten für die fortlaufende Optimierung sammeln. In dieser Zeit erzielte die von uns „händisch“ gesteuerte Kampagne ohne KI im Durchschnitt noch etwas bessere Klick- und Conversion-Raten. WHITE hatte aufgrund der eigenen Markterfahrung vorab ein „empirisches“ Targeting eingestellt und konnte so im ersten Zug schnell und treffsicher die „richtigen“ User ansprechen.

Das Learning aus diesem Feldversuch: Künstliche und „natürliche“, auf Erfahrung und Wissen basierende Intelligenz können sich durchaus attraktiv ergänzen und sind dann kreativ wie technologisch state of the art. KI-Kampagnen wirken, wenn sie echtes Wissen an die Stelle von Vermutungen und Annahmen setzen. Dies ist die essenzielle Grundlage für selbstlernende Systeme, die ihre Vorteile durch eine fortlaufende Optimierung und die Anpassung an sich verändernde soziale und wirtschaftliche Umfeldbedingungen ausspielen. Messbar wird dies durch zum Beispiel Klickraten (CTR), die exakt getrackte Reichweite oder auch Conversion und Leadgenerierungen.
Das alles klingt komplex und ist es auch. Die kluge Verbindung von menschlicher und künstlicher Intelligenz macht diese Komplexität jedoch heute jederzeit handhabbar und steuerbar. Auf der Grundlage originäre kreativer Ideen von Profis heben Data-Analytics in Verbindung mit Programmatic Advertising KI-Kampagnen auf ein neues, höheres strategisches Level. Die Logik dahinter: Werbung und Marketing rechnen sich – für die, die mit leistungsfähigen Systemen und digitalem Verstand einfach mit allem rechnen. KI ersetzt dabei nicht das Denken und das kreative Konzipieren, liefert aber Tools und Kapazitäten, mit denen intelligentes Campaigning – so gänzlich analog – richtig Spaß macht.

WHITE Communications GmbH Innsbrucker Ring 15 
81673 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren