INTERVIEW WITH DR ANDRÉ GÄRISCH – HORIZONT

1. What’s the market for luxury goods like right now – and what reasons do you see for the current trend?

Rupert Wild: Thanks to the favourable economic situation, the luxury market is still booming in Germany and experts are expecting its good, sound development to continue. In a study of the German luxury market, the analysts at Ernst & Young anticipate an increase from an estimated €65 billion in 2018 to a total volume of €88.7 billion by 2025.This steady growth of 4.5% is more than double the 2.3% at which the global market is expected to develop. The Boston Consulting Group confirms this development in a study produced in collaboration with Italian luxury association Altagamma. According to its findings, the signs for major international luxury groups like LVMH, Kering or Richemont are still pointing to growth. And brands like Gucci and Louis Vuitton keep setting new sales records and announcing increased profits.

Millennials and Generation Z are playing a crucial role in the upwards trend. They’re generally regarded as a very demanding, high-income target group that embraces consumerism. At the same time, they’re digital natives – which means they’re better informed and connected than any generation before them or at least have the possibility to access virtually unlimited consumer-relevant information. By 2050, experts anticipate that 50% of those who buy luxury products will be part of the millennials generation.

However, the favourable parameters and promising forecasts for the luxury segment are being overshadowed by some rather unpredictable and gloomy clouds right now: increasing protectionism, trade wars that could well escalate and “punitive tariffs”. Some American brands, for instance, are having a hard time reaching consumers in China the way they usually do because of increased taxes and customs duties.

2. At what point is a luxury item actually considered a luxury? Are there any standardised criteria that are applied by market researchers and analysts?

Luxury defies unequivocal definition; there aren’t any ISO standards that can be used to categorise it and distinguish it from “ordinary” consumer goods – that’s not how it works. But there are certain hallmarks all the same, like the special, outstanding quality of the materials used (like fabrics, precious metals or gemstones) and the often artisanal quality of the workmanship (“handmade”, “customised”). On top of that, the availability of luxury goods is deliberately limited and they’re often associated with a unique place, a special experience or a prominent personality. So when it comes to all the different things that can come together under the luxury label, there’s obviously a lot of scope for interpretation. As Coco Chanel once said, “Luxury is not the opposite of poverty, it is the opposite of vulgarity.” But as interesting as that might sound, it doesn’t really help with the search for a definition.

So let’s look at it from a different angle: despite all the fantasies about growth in prospering markets, responsible brand management always means ensuring that the availability of luxury products is limited. Back in the 1970s, Gucci – the favourite brand of Hollywood icons like Grace Kelly and Deborah Kerr – wanted to boost its growth by making the brand available on the mass market. But it wasn’t long before Gucci’s allure ended up in the bargain basement and faded. Fortunately, Tom Ford managed to turn things round in the nick of time and steered the brand back into luxury customers’ favour.

Three years ago, Gucci’s current CEO Marco Bizzarri drastically rejuvenated the collection. The once classic design of the products is becoming increasingly colourful and cheeky – it’s a lot more emotional. Ensuring the brand has a strong social media presence is an important part of that – and there’s been a 70% increase in the number of Gucci followers on Instagram. That’s having an impact on sales too, which have grown from around €4 billion to €6 billion in recent years.

3. Which categories of luxury goods are particularly popular with consumers right now and why?

Bags, shoes, jewellery and luggage are still the classic luxury products – they’re always in demand as long as the story associated with them is right. But nowadays, in the age of globalisation, digitalisation, social media and fast fashion, it’s increasingly a question of which language has to be spoken in order to fascinate and involve an international clientele long-term. The trendy skater and hip-hop brand Supreme is a prime example: it’s been embarking on spectacular collaborations with the likes of luggage maker Rimowa and Louis Vuitton recently. Then there’s the hip streetwear label Off-White, which cooperates extensively with companies like Calvin Klein, sunglasses brand Linda Farrow and designer shoes label Nicholas Kirkwood. There’s no need to worry that an alliance between two very different brands will result in a levelling down as long as you realise that merely being hip isn’t what makes the difference. It’s still “quality and intensity” that give a luxury product its soul. Ownership alone doesn’t make anybody happy. It takes an emotional link with the individual’s own personality and a smart, matching lifestyle to achieve that. In other words: you can do all sorts of things as long as the quality is right. And that doesn’t just mean the materials; it encompasses workmanship, service and customer relationships too, as well as customer and brand communications.

4. What do you think the outlook is like – how will the market for luxury goods develop in 2019 and beyond?

As I said at the beginning, the forecasts for the luxury goods market are definitely grounds for optimism. However, that doesn’t mean we can take the potential growth for granted. At the end of the day, it’s always the customers and their attitudes, preferences and expectations of a desirable and liveable lifestyle who decide whether luxury brands succeed or fail. At the same time, the online and social media ecosystems are increasingly determining the pace and technology of brand communications – especially in the case of millennial target groups. With its ever-faster (and potentially shorter) half lives, it’s an environment where consumers identify with the hip products of the moment and the aspirations they generate.

It will be crucial for luxury brands not to disconnect from their customers’ lifeworlds. It’s vital for us to make our children understand that there's more to alligators than handbags and more to life than the pursuit of an entrenched ideal of beauty and youth. And that a real moment can be far more valuable than the Insta story that results from it. That’s why, more than ever before, it’s the story and its authenticity that count. Customers have to be able to see themselves in the story a brand tells and want to be part of that story. Ultimately, the “secret” of their sales success lies in the dreams that luxury brands are so good at inspiring. Or to put it another way: speeding up isn’t everything. Healthy growth always depends on both hearts and minds. And that’s something to build on. Not just when it comes to regular customers, but in order to attract hopeful new customers from China and the millennial generation as well.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

fbpx

INTERVIEW MIT DR. ANDRÉ GÄRISCH – HORIZONT


1. Wie ist die derzeitige Konjunktur von Luxusartikeln – welche Gründe sehen Sie für den aktuellen Trend?

Rupert Wild: Der Luxusmarkt in Deutschland ist wegen der günstigen Wirtschaftslage weiter im Aufschwung. Experten erwarten auch weiterhin eine gute und solide Marktentwicklung. In einer Luxusmarktstudie gehen Analysten von Ernst & Young davon aus, dass der deutsche Luxusmarkt bis 2025 von für 2018 geschätzten 65 Mrd. € auf ein Gesamtvolumen von 88,7 Mrd. € ansteigen wird. Das stabile Wachstum von 4,5 % übersteige die zu erwartende globale Marktentwicklung von 2,3 % um mehr als das Doppelte. Auch die Boston Consulting Group bestätigt diese Entwicklung in einer Studie, die sie gemeinsam mit dem italienischen Luxusverband Altagamma erstellt hat. Sie sieht große, internationale Luxuskonzerne, wie LVMH, Kering oder Richemont, weiter auf Wachstumskurs. Marken wie Gucci und Louis Vuitton erzielen immer neue Umsatzrekorde und steigende Gewinne.

Eine wesentliche Rolle bei dem Aufwärtstrend spielen die Millennials und die „Generation Z“. Sie gelten als sehr anspruchsvoll, einkommensstark und konsumfreudig. Zugleich sind sie als Digital Natives informiert und vernetzt wie keine Generation vor ihnen oder haben zumindest die Möglichkeit, auf nahezu grenzenlos konsumrelevante Informationen zuzugreifen. Bis 2050 rechnen Experten damit, dass 50 % der Käufer von Luxusprodukten zur Generation der Millennials gehören werden.

Über den für die Luxusbranche günstigen Rahmenbedingungen und aussichtsreichen Prognosen schweben derzeit allerdings die etwas schwer kalkulierbaren düsteren Wolken eines zunehmenden Protektionismus, von sich möglicherweise ausweitenden Handelskriegen und „Strafzöllen“. So tun sich aktuell beispielsweise manche amerikanischen Marken schwer, angesichts eines angehobenen Steuer- und Zollniveaus die Konsumenten aus China in gewohnter Weise zu erreichen.


2. Ab wann gilt ein Luxusartikel überhaupt als solcher? Gibt es da einheitliche Kriterien unter Marktforschern und Analysten?

Luxus entzieht sich einer eindeutigen Definition, er lässt sich nicht nach DIN kategorisieren und so ohne weiteres gegenüber „gewöhnlichen“ Konsumgütern abgrenzen. Dennoch: Typische Kennzeichen sind eine besondere, herausragende Qualität der verwendeten Materialien (z.B. Stoffe, Edelmetalle oder Edelsteine) und ihrer in der Regel kunstfertigen Verarbeitung („hand made“, „customized“). Hinzu kommen eine bewusst limitierte Verfügbarkeit und oft die Verbindung mit einem einzigartigen Ort, einem besonderen Erlebnis oder einer bedeutenden Persönlichkeit. All dies lässt natürlich einen großen Interpretationsspielraum zu, was sich alles unter dem Luxus-Label versammeln kann. „Luxus ist nicht das Gegenteil von Armut, sondern von Vulgarität“, hat einmal Coco Chanel befunden. Klingt interessant aus ihrem Mund, hilft aber leider auch nicht weiter auf der Suche nach einer Definition.

Versuchen wir es daher aus einem anderen Blickwinkel: Verantwortungsvolle Markenführung heißt trotz aller Wachstumsfantasien auf prosperierenden Märkten immer auch begrenzte Verfügbarkeit von Luxusprodukten. Schon in den 1970er Jahren hatte Gucci, die Lieblingsmarke von Hollywood-Ikonen wie Grace Kelly und Deborah Kerr, seine Wachstumsziele mit der Erreichbarkeit der Marke auf dem Massenmarkt beflügeln wollen. Doch es dauerte nicht lange, bis Guccis Strahlkraft auf den Wühltischen untergewühlt wurde und verblasste. Tom Ford riss damals das Ruder in letzter Minute noch einmal rum und bekam so die Kurve zurück in die Gunst der Luxuskunden.

Der aktuelle Gucci-CEO Marco Bizzarri hat vor drei Jahren die Kollektion drastisch verjüngt. Das einst eher klassische Design der Produkte kommt immer bunter und frecher daher, einfach emotionaler. Dazu gehört auch, dass sich Gucci stark in den sozialen Netzwerken engagiert. Die Zahl der Follower auf Instagram ist um 70 % gestiegen. Das schlägt sich auch im Umsatz nieder. Der konnte in den vergangenen Jahren von knapp vier auf sechs Milliarden Euro gesteigert werden.


3. Welche Luxusartikel-Gruppen sind momentan besonders beliebt bei den Konsumenten und warum?

Klassische Luxusprodukte sind nach wie vor Taschen, Schuhe, Schmuck, Uhren und Reisegepäck – die haben immer Konjunktur, sofern die damit verbundene Story stimmt. Es geht heute aber immer mehr darum, welche Sprache gesprochen werden muss, um in Zeiten von Globalisierung, Digitalisierung, Social Media und Fast Fashion eine internationale Kundschaft nachhaltig zu faszinieren und zu involvieren. Dies macht beispielhaft die angesagte Skater- und Hip-hop-Brand Supreme vor, die zuletzt spektakuläre Kooperationen unter anderem mit dem Kofferhersteller Rimowa und Louis Vuitton einging. Oder das hippe Streetwear-Label Off-White mit seinen weitverzweigten Kooperationen unter anderem mit Calvin Klein, der Sonnenbrillen-Brand Linda Farrow oder dem Designer-Schuhhersteller Nicholas Kirkwood. Dass mit der Verbindung zweier jeweils sehr unterschiedlicher Marken eine Nivellierung nach unten einhergeht, ist nicht zu befürchten, wenn die Erkenntnis mitspielt, dass Hip sein allein nicht den Unterschied macht. Es sind noch immer „Quality and Intensity“, die einem Luxusprodukt Seele verleihen. Besitz allein macht nicht glücklich. Dazu bedarf es eben auch der emotionalen Klammer zur eigenen Persönlichkeit und eines dazu passenden smarten Lifestyles. Mit anderen Worten: Du kannst vieles machen, solange die Qualität stimmt. Und zwar beim Material, seiner Verarbeitung, im Service, in der Kundenbeziehung sowie in der Kunden- und Markenkommunikation.


4. Können Sie einen kurzen Ausblick geben – wie wird sich der Markt für Luxusartikel 2019 und längerfristig entwickeln?

Die Prognosen für den Markt der Luxusartikel stimmen, wie eingangs erwähnt, optimistisch. Allerdings ist das mögliche Wachstum gewiss kein Selbstläufer. Am Ende sind es immer die Kunden mit ihren Einstellungen, Vorlieben und Erwartungen an einen begehrens- und lebenswerten Lifestyle, die über den Erfolg oder Misserfolg von Luxusmarken entscheiden. Dabei geben die Online- und Social-Media-Ökosysteme gerade der Millennial-Zielgruppen zunehmend Tempo und Technologie der Markenkommunikation vor. Die Konsumenten identifizieren die dort immer schnelleren (und potenziell kürzeren) Halbwertzeiten mit gerade angesagten Produkten und den ihnen entgegengebrachten Begehrlichkeiten.

Entscheidend wird sein, dass sich Luxusmarken nicht von den Lebenswelten ihrer Kunden entkoppeln. Wir müssen bereits unseren Kindern klar machen, dass Alligatoren nicht nur eine Handtasche sind und dass ein festzementiertes Schönheits- und Jugendideal nicht das erklärte einzige Lebensziel sein sollten. Und dass ein realer Moment mitunter wertvoller als die daraus resultierende Insta-Story sein kann. Es kommt daher mehr denn je auf die Story und ihre Authentizität an. Die Kunden müssen sich in der Story, die eine Marke erzählt, selbst wiederfinden können und den Wunsch verspüren, selbst Teil dieser Geschichte sein zu wollen. In den Träumen, die Luxusbrands zu wecken verstehen, liegt letztlich das „Geheimnis“ des Verkaufserfolgs. Oder anders ausgedrückt: Beschleunigung ist nicht alles. Gesundes Wachstum braucht immer beides: Herz und Verstand. Darauf lässt sich bauen. Bei Stammkunden genauso wie bei hoffnungsvollen Neukunden aus China und dem Kreis der Millennials.

WHITE Communications GmbH Innsbrucker Ring 15 
81673 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren