Streetwear & a smart lifestyle – luxury 2018 is reinventing itself and staying what it is

The Condé Nast International Luxury Conference 2018 in Lisbon was all about setting the course for a new era. Because the world of luxury is moving faster than ever before; luxury has never been as changeable and yet as consistent as it is today. All the signs in the industry are pointing to growth and increasing sales – at least for those who have understood the signs of the times.

The Condé Nast International Luxury Conference is always one of the sector’s most important get-togethers of the year. This time round, the who’s who of the luxury market gathered in the Portuguese capital Lisbon in mid-April. It was the fourth time WHITE Communications had partnered with the CNI LUX. For good reason: there are few opportunities where you get to feel the pulse of the luxury segment as intensively as here, or experience the sector’s most prominent and relevant players and their assessment of the market in such concentrated form.

Even before things got underway in Lisbon, the Boston Consulting Group had already published the results of a recent study it produced in collaboration with Italian luxury association Altagamma. Good news for the industry: for major international luxury groups like LVMH, Kering or Richemont, the signs are pointing to growth. Brands like Gucci and Louis Vuitton keep setting new sales records and announcing increased profits.

Millennials define luxury as a lifestyle

In emerging markets – especially China – consumption of luxury goods is still on the rise. And the millennials, i.e. people born between 1980 and 2000, have discovered luxury brands as the expression of their preferred lifestyle. That’s why management consultants are predicting that market volume will increase from its current level of approx. €915 billion to around €1.3 trillion in 2024. “By that time, 50% of those who buy luxury products will be part of the millennial generation,” anticipates Javier Seara, an expert on luxury goods and the fashion industry at Boston Consulting Group (BCG). And that’s precisely where the opportunities and risks for luxury brands lie.

The exquisite handbag from Hermès, the little black dress from Chanel, the Brioni suit or the Patek Philippe watch will continue to top the ranking of desirable goods. But the more young people flood the market, the more the expectations associated with luxury goods will shift. That’s because millennials – and increasingly, following in their wake, their parents, who are staying “young” for longer – gravitate towards styles from the streetwear and casual segments, even when it comes to luxury goods. Sneakers, jeans and T-shirts are what they want, as well as top-quality electronics – from smartphones and wearables all the way to high-end headphones.

Hip-hop helps classic luggage lift off

In view of this background, “The Language of Luxury” was a fitting motto for the CNI LUX. Because in times of globalisation, social media and fast fashion, it’s increasingly a question of which language has to be spoken in order to fascinate and involve an international clientele long-term. In Lisbon, Alexandre Arnault, the 24-year-old new CEO of Rimowa (LVMH), talked about the liaison between the luxury luggage brand and the skater and hip-hop label Supreme. The result: one of the most desirable suitcases in the world today. Arnault rejected the suggestion that collaboration between two such different brands could result in a levelling down. For him, merely being hip isn’t what makes the difference. It’s still “quality and intensity” that give a luxury product its soul. Arnault also struck a chord with many of the conference attendees in Lisbon when he spoke about how vital it is to combine luxury items with immaterial experiences. Ownership alone doesn’t make you happy, he said. That calls for an emotional link with your own personality and a smart lifestyle to match.

Arnault thus very cleverly summed up the direction things are moving in. Luxury means you can do all sorts of things as long as the quality is right. And desirability alone isn’t the be-all and end-all. In view of the fact that the classic luxury business has slowed down, it might be tempting to launch an upscale brand into comet-like orbit powered by the thrust of a hip streetwear label. But as Alexandre Arnault knows: unfortunately, although the crowds love the spectacle of a comet crossing the heavens, it’s destined to burn up when it enters our atmosphere again. The best way to prevent that from happening is to remember the categorical imperative of the luxury market: quality, quality, quality. And that doesn’t just mean the materials; it encompasses workmanship, service, customer relationships and the communications between the brand and its clientele as well.

The mass market devours class

Despite all the fantasies about growth in prospering markets, responsible brand management always means ensuring that the availability of luxury products is limited. Actually, that’s nothing new. Back in the 1970s, Gucci – the favourite brand of Hollywood icons like Grace Kelly and Deborah Kerr – wanted to boost its growth by making the brand available on the mass market. But it wasn’t long before Gucci’s allure ended up in the bargain basement and faded. Tom Ford managed to turn things round in the nick of time and steered the brand back into luxury customers’ favour.

Three years ago, Gucci’s current CEO Marco Bizzarri drastically rejuvenated the collection. The once classic design of the products is becoming increasingly colourful and cheeky. “Gucci has succeeded in conveying emotions,” said Francois-Henri Pinault, head of Gucci’s parent company Kering, in a recent interview with German business weekly Wirtschaftswoche. That also includes stepping up Gucci’s social media presence. According to Pinault, there has been a 70% increase in the number of its followers on Instagram – which is also part of the reason why sales have grown from around €4 billion to €6 billion in recent years.

Scoring points in millennials’ social media ecosystem

Designer Philipp Plein is somebody else who only aims upwards; failure doesn’t seem to be an option as far as he’s concerned. The founder of the Philipp Plein International Group, which consists of the brands Philipp Plein, Plein Sport and Billionaire, always focuses on seizing the moment. During his flamboyant appearance in Lisbon, he explained that he actually doesn’t think about where he might be 10 years from now – he never plans more than a year ahead. That could well mean he’s on the right track as far as the online and social media ecosystem of his millennial target groups is concerned: With its ever-faster (and potentially shorter) half lives, it’s an environment where users and consumers identify with the hip products of the moment and the aspirations they generate. Come to think of it, that sounds dangerously hot – a bit like a comet!

Also in Lisbon, Stefan Siegel, CEO of online platform “Not just a label”, rightly reminded his listeners that luxury brands shouldn’t disconnect from their customers’ lifeworlds. That‘s why he believes it’s vital for us to make our children understand that there’s more to alligators than handbags and more to life than the pursuit of an entrenched ideal of beauty and youth. And that a real moment can be far more valuable than the Insta story that results from it. How wise that sounds – even if it should actually be self-evident!

Ultimately, of course, it’s always the consumers who decide the fate of luxury brands. For Mark Shapiro, co-president of production company IMG, one special virtue of the “language of luxury” lies in the fact that it can help customers see themselves in the story a brand tells. “They have to want to be part of that story,” explains Shapiro. That’s why, for luxury brands, it’s all a question of generating dreams that can ultimately be measured in something as down to earth and unromantic as sales figures. Or to put it another way: speeding up isn’t everything. Healthy growth always depends on both: hearts and minds. The audible wake-up calls at the Lisbon conference were thus entirely right. And they’re something to build on. Not just when it comes to regular customers, but in order to attract hopeful new customers from China and the millennial generation as well.

WHITE Communications GmbH Rosenheimer Str. 145e 
81671 München

Show in google maps

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York | 10017

Show in google maps

Subscribe to Newsletter

fbpx

Streetwear & Smarter Lifestyle – Luxus 2018 erfindet sich neu und bleibt was er ist

Condé Nast International Luxury Conference 2018 in Lissabon: Weichenstellung für eine neue Epoche. Denn noch nie drehte sich die Welt des Luxus so schnell, noch nie war Luxus so wandelbar und doch so beständig. In der Branche stehen alle Zeichen auf Wachstum und steigende Umsätze – jedenfalls für die, die die Zeichen der Zeit erkannt haben.

Sie ist jedes Jahr einer der wichtigsten Branchentreffs: die Condé Nast International Luxury Conference. Das Who-is-who des Luxusmarktes kam diesmal Mitte April in der portugiesischen Hauptstadt Lissabon zusammen. WHITE Communications ist schon zum 4ten Mal Partner der „CNI LUX“. Und das aus gutem Grund: Es gibt kaum eine Gelegenheit, den Pulsschlag der Luxusbranche so intensiv wie hier zu spüren und so prominent und konzentriert die bedeutendsten Akteure und ihre Markteinschätzungen zu erleben.

Schon bevor es in Lissabon losging, hatte die Boston Consulting Group die Ergebnisse einer aktuellen Studie publik gemacht, die sie gemeinsam mit dem italienischen Luxusverband Altagamma erstellt hat. Gute Nachrichten für die Branche: Bei großen internationalen Luxuskonzernen, wie LVMH, Kering oder Richemont stehen die Zeichen auf Wachstum. Marken wie Gucci und Louis Vuitton erzielen immer neue Umsatzrekorde und steigende Gewinne.

Millennials definieren Luxus als Lifestyle

In den aufstrebenden Volkswirtschaften, vor allem in China, ist Luxuskonsum weiter auf dem Vormarsch. Und die Millennials, also die zwischen 1980 und 2000 Geborenen, haben Luxusmarken als Ausdruck ihres bevorzugten Lifestyles entdeckt. Die Unternehmensberater prognostizieren daher, dass das Marktvolumen von aktuell rund 915 Milliarden Euro auf 1,3 Billionen Euro im Jahre 2024 steigen wird. „Dann werden 50 Prozent der Käufer von Luxusprodukten zur Generation der Millennials gehören“, erwartet Javier Seara, Experte für Luxusgüter und für die Modeindustrie bei der Boston Consulting Group (BCG). Und genau daran machen sich gleichermaßen Chancen und Risiken für Luxusmarken fest.

Die edle Handtasche von Hermès, das kleine Schwarze von Chanel, der Anzug von Brioni oder die Armbanduhr von Patek Philippe haben weiterhin ihren herausgehobenen Platz im Ranking der Begehrlichkeiten. Doch je mehr junge Leute auf den Markt strömen, desto mehr verschieben sich auch die Erwartungen an Luxusgüter. Gerade die Millennials – und in deren Kielwasser auch immer öfter ihre immer länger „jugendlichen“ Eltern – orientieren sich auch bei Luxusprodukten an Styles aus dem Streetwear- und Casual-Bereich. Sneakers, Jeans, T-Shirts sind bei ihnen gefragt, genauso wie hochwertige Elektronik vom Smartphone über Wearables bis hin zu Highlevel-Kopfhörern.

Hip-Hop lässt Kofferklassiker abheben

„The language of luxury“ war vor diesem Hintergrund ein gut gewähltes Motto der CNI LUX. Es geht in der Tat immer mehr darum, welche Sprache gesprochen werden muss, um in Zeiten von Globalisierung, Digitalisierung, Social Media und Fast Fashion eine internationale Kundschaft nachhaltig zu faszinieren und zu involvieren. Alexandre Arnault, der 24-jährige neue CEO von Rimowa (LVMH), stellte in Lissabon die Liäson der Luxus-Koffermarke mit dem angesagten Skater- und Hip-hop-Brand Supreme vor. Das Ergebnis: einer der aktuell begehrtesten Koffer der Welt. Dass mit der Verbindung zweier so unterschiedlicher Marken eine Nivellierung nach unten einhergehen könnte, wies Arnault von sich. Hip sein allein, mache für ihn nicht den Unterschied. Es seien noch immer „Quality and Intensity“, die einem Luxusprodukt Seele verliehen. Arnault sprach in Lissabon vielen aus der Seele, als er zudem auf die notwendige Verbindung von Luxusgegenständen mit immateriellen Erlebnissen verwies. Besitz allein mache nicht glücklich. Dazu bedürfe es eben auch der emotionalen Klammer zur eigenen Persönlichkeit und eines dazu passenden smarten Lifestyles.

Damit hat Arnault klug die Richtung gewiesen. Luxus heißt: Du kannst vieles machen, solange die Qualität stimmt. Und Begehrlichkeit allein ist nicht alles. Vor dem Hintergrund, dass sich das klassische Luxusgeschäft verlangsamt hat, mag es verführerisch sein, eine Edelmarke mit der Schubkraft eines hippen Streetwear-Brands wie einen Kometen in die Umlaufbahn zu schießen. Aber ein Alexandre Arnault weiß: Ein Komet gibt für die Menge ein schönes Himmelsschauspiel her, führt aber dummerweise genauso schnell zum Verglühen, wenn er wieder in unsere Atmosphäre eintauchen soll. Davor schützt immer noch am wirkungsvollsten die Besinnung auf den kategorischen Imperativ des Luxusmarktes. Und der lautet: Qualität, Qualität, Qualität. Und zwar beim Material, seiner Verarbeitung, im Service, in der Kundenbeziehung sowie in der Kunden- und Markenkommunikation.

Masse frisst Klasse

Verantwortungsvolle Markenführung heißt trotz aller Wachstumsfantasien auf prosperierenden Märkten immer auch begrenzte Verfügbarkeit von Luxusprodukten. Das ist im Grunde ja nichts wirklich Neues. Schon in den 1970er Jahren hatte Gucci, die Lieblingsmarke von Hollywood-Ikonen wie Grace Kelly und Deborah Kerr, seine Wachstumsziele mit der Erreichbarkeit der Marke auf dem Massenmarkt beflügeln wollen. Doch es dauerte nicht lange, bis Guccis Strahlkraft auf den Wühltischen untergewühlt wurde und verblasste. Tom Ford riss damals das Ruder in letzter Minute noch einmal rum und bekam so die Kurve zurück in die Gunst der Luxuskunden.

Der aktuelle Gucci-CEO Marco Bizzarri hat vor drei Jahren die Kollektion drastisch verjüngt. Das einst eher klassische Design der Produkte kommt immer bunter und frecher daher. „Gucci hat es geschafft, Emotionen zu vermitteln“, sagte Francois-Henri Pinault, Chef des Mutterkonzerns Kering, unlängst der Wirtschaftswoche. Dazu gehöre auch, dass sich Gucci stark in den sozialen Netzwerken engagiere. So sei die Zahl der Follower auf Instagram um 70 Prozent gestiegen, sagte Pinault. Auch deswegen sei in den vergangenen Jahren der Umsatz von knapp vier auf sechs Milliarden Euro gesteigert worden.

Im Social-Media-Ökosystem der Millennials punkten

Der Designer Philipp Plein ist auch einer, der sich nur oben orientiert, Scheitern scheint für ihn keine Option zu sein. Der Gründer der Philipp Plein International Group mit den Marken Philipp Plein, Plein Sport und Billionaire setzt immer auf die Gunst der Stunde. In Lissabon erklärte er bei seinem schillernden Auftritt, dass er eigentlich nicht daran denke, was in zehn Jahren sein könnte, ein Jahr sei das Maximum was er voraus plane. Damit könnte er im Online- und Social-Media-Ökosystem seiner Millennial-Zielgruppen richtig liegen. User und Konsumenten identifizieren sich dort immer schnelleren (und potenziell kürzeren) Halbwertzeiten mit gerade angesagten Produkten und den ihnen entgegengebrachten Begehrlichkeiten. Das klingt allerdings auch gefährlich heiß nach Kometenflug!

Stefan Siegel, CEO der Online Plattform „Not just a label“ mahnte in Lissabon zu Recht, dass sich Luxusmarken nicht von den Lebenswelten ihrer Kunden entkoppeln dürfen. Es gehe deswegen heute darum, bereits unseren Kindern klar zu machen, dass Alligatoren nicht nur eine Handtasche und ein festzementiertes Schönheits- und Jugendideal nicht das erklärte einzige Lebensziel sein sollten. Und dass ein realer Moment mitunter wertvoller als die daraus resultierende Insta-Story sein könne. Wie weise das eigentlich Selbstverständliche klingen kann!

Na klar, am Ende sind es immer die Konsumenten, die über das Schicksal von Luxusmarken entscheiden. Für Mark Shapiro, Co-President der Produktionsfirma IMG, liegt ein besonderer Wert der „Language of Luxury“ darin, dass sich Kunden darüber in der Story, die eine Marke erzählt, selbst wiederfinden können. „Sie müssen Teil dieser Geschichte sein wollen“, erklärt Shapiro. Es gehe deswegen für Luxusbrands vorrangig darum, Träume entstehen zu lassen, die sich am Ende des Tages auch ganz nüchtern und unromantisch in den Verkaufszahlen messen ließen. Oder anders ausgedrückt: Beschleunigung ist nicht alles. Gesundes Wachstum braucht immer beides: Herz und Verstand. Damit hat Lissabon richtige und vernehmliche Weckrufe gesetzt. Darauf lässt sich bauen. Bei Stammkunden genauso wie bei hoffnungsvollen Neukunden aus China und dem Kreis der Millennials.

WHITE Communications GmbH Innsbrucker Ring 15 
81673 München

In Google Maps anzeigen

100 Park Avenue | New York City 
New York  | 10017

In Google Maps anzeigen

Newsletter abonnieren